Staying Grateful in a Sea of Cryptocurrency Red

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

It's a bloody day, no doubt about that.  Missing the sell off, I got up this morning and started to feel anxious. These patterns typically happen on the weekends now.  It's nothing new.  So why was a feeling this way? Because I am not in control.

Source

The Market does not Operate the way I want it to

And why should it?  Price action is a reflection of the emotions of all the buyers and sellers.  A visual representation of public sentiment.  In my experience, I always wanted to be in control of everything.  I am only one individual.  It is delusional to think that I have any sort of impact on the entire crypto market as a whole, or that it should bow to my whim because I want a green day.  

Acceptance of that fact was important.  It flipped into feeling grateful because I am blessed to be able to deal with crypto for a living.  It was not always like this.  For a long time, I struggled to get by.  

My thoughts went like this:

"Ok, so the market is red.  You aren't going to sell at a loss anyways, so what's the big deal?  How about you write a post on Steemit? Or get to know people in the Discord channels?  How about you turn your head away from the computer screen this afternoon and go do something?"  

Source - Awesome photograph of red pigment algae in the Dead China Sea

I Can't Change the Market, but I Can Change my Attitude

This is huge for me.  The world is so much larger than me.  But I can alter my perception of it.  Stay grateful during the hard times.  That's where the growth comes in.  It is easy to be thankful when the market is throwing double digit gains at you on a daily basis.  But how do I react when times get a bit tougher?  

I reflect on that and realize that maybe this is God's way of telling me to put down the crypto for the weekend. Quit looking at my Blockfolio and enjoy the summer sun.  I've got a pretty big day with some friends planned for tomorrow, and how would things go if I was stressed out the whole times because the market is in correction?  A correction that, in my humble opinion is overdue anyway?  It would be a disservice to them all.  

The simple truth is that I cannot change much, if anything at all.  I don't have that much power.  But I can change how I react to the world around me.  

Sort:  

Hold on because there is a time for everything under the sun.

Oh, absolutely!

@cryptopie got you a $0.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@cryptopie got you a $0.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Yes, just Hodl...soon the green days will come!

Absolutely! When I first started in crypto, I panic sold one time . . got screwed lol . . never again

Hah you learned your lesson fast...i did it few times.
Thats why now I only keep 10% of my cryptos on exchanges (just for fun) rest on hard wallet

Meanwhile, Bitcoin is still about $2,500 so all the talk about red seas is perhaps a bit overblown. There will be green days as well.

Yea, you are correct. I think people get used to the idea of having double digit profit days all the time, and eventually the market has to come back down to Earth. Indicators are not as strong for btc as they once were . . same with alt coins. I've gotten out of a few coins, like Ethereum. Washing out the weak hands again, and then the inevitable counter trend rally.

Very good post. It's kind a zen attitude that you showing here, i like it.
Upvote

Yea! Thanks for reading. That's a pretty good description.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShawnFishBit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post received a 1.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @shawnfishbit! For more information, click here!

Interesting that this post is just as applicable today as it was when you published it 4 days ago. I like the vidid imagery (red sea) you convey and how you stay calm during the storm. I am also a hodler, the market fluctuates day by day and no one can predict it.

This post gets a 1.42 % upvote thanks to @shawnfishbit - Hail Eris !