Mining Crypto for the hell of it!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

So less than a few months ago, I decided to try mining some good ol Bitcoin. I'm not an expert, nor did I nit pick at numbers to get this going so I just thought I'd try and produce at least something. I mean the concept is pretty cool, in theory, you are printing money and passively creating income as you sleep.

I have a laptop and most recently have acquired an old used gaming desktop to see what I can do. I mean other than the price of electricity, I think its worth the shot. I gave Minergate a try with my laptop and it began to mine Some XEM Monero and XDN Diginote, using CPU and a tiny bit of GPU power, then began the hashing, not a horribly fast pace but I really think this got me going.

This prompted my to start building the desktop into a mining machine. Did a little research, saw what was available to me locally in the used market and started my search for graphic cards. I got my hands on a few old cards, went though the pain of finding molex to 6pin connectors, cross referencing other people builds on YouTube, then eventually upgrading the PSU power unit so I could power these beasts.

3 weeks into it all and I am mining away! I download Nicehash and began a new obsessive sickness, only to leave me like a little boy who envies the other boy who has all the Transformers and all I have is BumbleBee. So far I am happy with my results, not big results, but a humble beginning into the world of Crypto currency.

20170718_203207.jpg

A little Coinbase investments, a Bittrex trading, buy and holding or HODLing as they say and I'm in. Definitely, among my current network of friends, I am a bit introverted with this, but love to share the experience, conspiracy theories, and dreams of Bitcoin and all of its wonder.

I'll probably keep building, keep investing and see where this all goes.

For those who are wondering, I am using a R9 270 and a R9 270X and they are hashing away at least 1.67 a day.

Enjoy and keep stackin!

Sort:  

I'm using minergate and just my normal desktop computer. Am yet to move anything into an account. Started building a few numbers within minergate. I am sure I am only at penny's so far. Will keep going, computer is turned on anyway.

Yes! Keep the faith...especially if you are running your comp anyway =) Good luck and happy mining!!

@streetent
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!