Is Cryptocurrency The New "Beanie Babies?"

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

We all remember the "Beanie Babies" right? Those cute, little stuffed animals for children... that became the ugly face of greed for suburban housemoms everywhere!

$_32.JPG

Hitting up every Toys R' Us and Target store till there were no more in stock. Spending hundreds of dollars. Sealing them in protective plastic cases. Hording them in there garages and basements, waiting for the "Future" when they can cash in on their "brilliant" investment.

Only to be stuck in 2017 with bags of worthless stuffed shit that they can't even get $5 dollars for at a garage sell!

THEN THERE WAS CRYPTOCURRENCY

bitx.jpg

I've worked in the tech industry for over ten years now. And I've dabbled in it for even longer. So I would never call myself a "newb" when it comes to understanding how cryptocurrency works. But I have no problems admitting that I don't know enough to give advice on it.

I remember back in the "voodoo days" when it was seen, even by those in the "technical know," as shady trade for weirdos and criminals on the Dark Web!

Now? I hear hipsters talking about in it every coffee shop I venture into.

I believe this is good in one sense for those who have invested Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum, and so on.

Even me, who has been a reluctant hold-out, consider myself a huge supporter.

(Mainly cause I am an anarchist, and love to watch traditional systems forced to adapt or die... but I digress!)

I've watched week after week the value of Bitcoin rise. And I've watched week after week, my friends frantically trying to buy it because they don't want to miss the boat.

BUT...

And this is a legitimate question to you cryptocurrency experts out there on STEEMIT:

"Is there a bubble that's about to burst on this?"

Like I've said, every week cryptocurrency seems to be rising. But there has to be balance!

For those that invested years ago and bought low, I don't think there's much of an issue if the value makes a sharp decline. You don't have much to lose as far as original investment.

But for those who are just getting on this "money train" right now, when value, and BUY-IN, is way up...

Are they going to be stuck in a few years holding a bag of "Beanie Babies?"

Sort:  

I never think of the future - it comes soon enough.

- Albert Einstein

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!