You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ethereum - Faster, Lighter and More Secure

I appreciate your position. Been there a number of times over the years myself.

With crypto, I am truly a long term holders so entry points arent crucial although we all hate pullbacks when we purchased higher. I would love to see BTC at $2500 even though that is below where I entered. I can live with a paper loss for a while when I am trying to add.

I am confident in your purchase even at $388....my last batch of ETH was $318 so I have a bit of a loss on that right now. Still would love a lower point, give me $200. :)

Sort:  

Ohhh, yes, I have been through my share of dips and downturns in crypto! I am not stressed when my investment drops 40% (although more than 50% does make me sweat a little but by then the losses are so great I just could never sell for so little!). I'm aiming for the long term vision.

It's like that meme that is making it's rounds about Bitcoin:

bitcoinmemedropsgains.png

Very true...the volatility is a traders dream. However, it can be trying for the long term holder other than the fact that there is huge upset.

I am like you, pullbacks dont bother me. I really could care less since I am still trying to load up.

Added a bit more Steem today...trying to power my account up.

Unfortunately, I'm not very wealthy so everything I could spare is already in crypto, and I can't/won't be adding more fiat to the pile for quite some time :(
Things like Steemit are my only crypto-'income' that I can use to grow my portfolio. So hope to make it to dolphin before everything skyrockets too fast! :)

What is dolphin level?

I am not sure what they are....

Oh, those are Steemit terms to describe how big someone's Steem Power is.

Whales are, just like with other crypto's, the people who own massive amounts and whose upvotes are worth the most. Minnows are small fish, who own very little Steem Power. Dolphins are what they call those who are bigger than a minnow, yet not as big as whale. Say, for example 1000 Steem Power might be enough to call yourself a dolphin, where 100K Steem Power would make you a Whale.

Ok...I understand the analogy but wasnt sure of the breakoffs....when one went from minnow to dolphin or whatever.

Somehow we all need to upgrade ourselves by adding to this site. It is hard to break into the whale category but believe it can happen.

It takes a lot of work if one doesnt have the capital to buy in. I am sure $10K in steem would propel one towards the head of the class very quickly.

Don't take my word for it... I pulled those numbers out of thin air. I don't actually know if there are cut-off levels.. it's more of a subjective thing I guess.

But yes, this platform nowadays seems to require you to put in some money in order to upvote your posts so they get high enough so they are seen. i think if you joined last year there was still a lot of natural growth possible, but nowadays you basically need a pre-existing following base in order to get from nothing to whale. Jerry banfield is one of the few examples who only joined recently but now is one of the biggest whales.

As for us smaller people, I am sort of seeking the real ones out.. maybe we can start our own little circles. That's how the whales operate anyway, voting on eachother. I'm already following you, for that purpose. Figure you can use my ~(tiny, but growing) upvote much better than some mega whale who doesn't even notice it! And I even get some interaction in return, that's fun too! :)

Brilliant Meme @pandorasbox I invested in 2015 and still mine and hold all that bitcoin. Invest it further and take the roller coaster rides.