Thoughts about the future of cryptocurrency. . .

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

IMG_2309[1].png

I know we've all heard this famous little story, right? And probably a few other gems. So, I'm curious to know how everyone became interested/involved in cryptocurrency. What's your story and what everyone thinks the future is? Especially given what could happen on August 1.

My husband introduced me to cryptocurrency a few years ago while on vacation, buying lunch and then a cup of coffee with it as we walked around. He actually was aware of it when BTC was under $10 USD, but of course, only bought a handful of coins, like you hear from so many people "if only I had bought more at the time!" But, now I feel I have sort of been through it all with crypto: incredible highs and lows, losing a few coins during the MtGox mess (thankfully, only a few, most were either in other online wallets or cold storage by then), and of course where we are
now, seeing incredible growth, but with so many other coins just now in their infancy with what seems like limitless potential.

Aside from Steemit, what other alt coins do you guys buy and trade? I hold about 30 different coins, but here are a few I really like:

  • The other "big two" Ethereum and Litecoin. A friend of ours has been mining Litecoin for a couple of years now and believes it will be over $100 USD soon, although he is downsizing his mining operation because the price has gone
    up so much, and he his operation is in Florida, which has pretty expensive electricity costs compared to other areas.

  • Dash, because it seems set up to be more useful for every day transactions in the future

  • BitShares

  • There is also one called Verium/Vericoin that you can mine yourself without specialized equipment, which is interesting.

IMG_2394.PNG

I do not think we have even come close to the tipping point because most of my friends have either never heard of Bitcoin, so then of course they have never heard of any other crypto currencies, or they may have just heard of it in
passing and have not taken the time to research it, so they don't take any of this seriously at all.

I have not sold any coins in quite some time and do not plan to any time soon. What about you guys? Are you hoarding or selling?

Sort:  

I'm holding all of my coins right now (but thinking of converting back to BTC for the fork tomorrow). One of my craziest Bitcoin stories is actually from last year. I was playing a LOT of online poker for Bitcoin and I ran up 0.3 BTC up to over 1.6 BTC over the course of a like two weeks. I got super drunk one night and donked it ALL off (Yes all 1.6 BTC). Back then BTC was only $400 so it was worth just over $600 total. That same amount of BTC would be worth $4500 today :(!

I have traded Bitcoin and Ether in the past. I believe cryptocurrencies are here to stay but I find it unlikely they will ever fully replace fiat currency. People will want to always know how much an alt-coin is compared to USD. However, digital currencies might dominate online transactions in the future. I believe Ether or perhaps EOS (shout out to Dan), will overtake Bitcoin in the the future, because they are more practical to use on a daily basis.