Proof of Play (PoP) cryptocurrency MMO Idea

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Proof of Play

Let's say Blizzard decided to make World of Warcraft 2, but they decided their in-game currency would be block chain based. They decided that instead of charging monthly for the game, the game would fund itself through an algorithm built into the game that is a new Proof of Play mining system. Rewards can be lowered as time goes on and the in-game market prices would dynamically change as the value of new crypto would change on exchanges like Bittrex or Poloniex. A certain percentage of this currency mined in-game would go the developers through NPC purchases.

Immersion

I would even program a vault system that would essentially be like steem power in the game. A system like this would help people to stay invested in the game. So maybe half of in game rewards can go straight to the players vault. Real world value would immerse players even more. Large party raids would have the biggest rewards.

Community

It would form a lot of communities and some people can turn this into a career. Players that develop trust would be able to sell real world items in the game. Trusted guilds or players voted by the community would be able to build shops and be able to sell real or in-game items. The possibilities would be limitless.

Here are a snippet of the ideas I had.

  1. Game currency and inventory stored on the blockchain.
  2. Players would earn the currency by playing and rewards would drop over time.
  3. In game pricing would be based on the market value of the cryptocurrency. It would get the average value across different exchanges dynamically.
  4. A vault system that would be similar to steem power.

If you have any further ideas on what would improve this system, leave it in the comments below.

If you liked this post, please consider voting and resteeming. :) You can also follow me here @vegeta

Sort:  

This post received a 47% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegeta! For more information, click here!

I like it

So there is a cryptocurrency called Huntercoin that uses a play to mine model with all moves stored on the blockchain. The last time I played it got very popular then got very laggy. I hear they've fixed the lag and I'll be trying it again.

I wished for Blizzard to introduce some type of blockchain technology since I first learned off bitcoin 2 years back. I have on many occasions suggested something like Steam community marketplace were u can sell in-game items to other players and use your earnings to buy playtime. But as we all know Blizzard don't really care about players and just milking WOW players while player base shrinks.

Positives of in game crypto:

  1. Playerbase would determine the value of the coins
  2. If you are the devs, you wouldn't have to sell the game to earn from it.

I have been thinking about this sort of thing since I first discovered Bitcoin back in 2011. A lot of MMOs have digital goods, commodities, and currency that can be exchanged for dollars or crypto. Blizzard banned my account for real money trading (RMT) a few years ago, but I have found several games that allow RMT. I am currently playing Shroud of the Avatar. I am also planning on playing Crowfall once it goes into beta testing. I have been making about $800 a month playing Shroud of the Avatar, and I would gladly exchange game gold and other commodities for some crypto.

It would be even easier if the in-game currency was a crypto.

Haha also just got similar responses on my suggestions to blizzard.

I really think there is a future for cryptos in gaming. A lot of possibilities with MMO genre, might be the kick MMOs need to be popular again.

For sure, and players from steemit could live stream and have multiple sources of revenue. It would literally be game changing.

This guy basically does that. He streams on multiple platforms while playing an MMORPG, so he is monetizing his gaming in all kinds of crazy ways. It works for him. He used to be a bus driver here in Portland. This guy was my bus driver. Now he has a house in Florida. He games full time now. Check it out. He plays a lot of EVE Online, which is the most profitable thing to be doing now I think, but he also plays a lot of Shroud of the Avatar. Check it out. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoN4Lz0ZQO4iQbQbnUpkSeg

Thanks a lot, will do!

remind me a little bit of Linden dollars in Second Life!

I've been thinking about this myself. There is Huntercoin and it's been around for some time. I'm just doing a search now, and was suprised your ranking on startpage was the first page! Steemit is getting a good toe hold.
Life is good
Now following, and looking for more, keep in touch