Just because you can, doesn't mean you HAVE to.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

The great thing about cryptocurrency is it decentralized and open sourced nature. Anyone can create a coin with a little knowledge and minimal start-up capital.

This begs the question: Just because you can do it, should you? I'll be honest; I did not read any of the whitepapers for these coins. It's the name and logo that caught my attention and got me thinking.

Here are a few strange coins and tokens that I came across in the last couple of weeks:

Adult Coins

Titcoin / Tittiecoin / Wankcoin
wank.png tittie.jpg

Just one look at the logo and you already know what it's about. Nope, not breast cancer and empowerment.

"Green"Coins

Cannacoin / Cannabiscoin
cannABIS.jpg CANNA.jpg

They're green, so they're good. At least you know what they're about. Love the logo's.

Charity Coins

Bunnycoin
bunny.jpg

I am a firm believer in giving more than just in the monetary sense. Give a little of your time and show true love and generosity. Also, most charities would prefer you give them fiat currency or something more mainstream like Bitcoin. Dogecoin is really does a great job at charity though. I hold some just for the fun of it.

Politics Coins

Putin coin, Putin classic, Ron Paul coin, Trumpcoin
putin.jpg trum.jpg

I fail to see the use of these coins. I'm sure it makes for a nice novelty but do the creators really see it being adopted by the masses?

Just plain bizarre

Pepecoin / Fucktoken
pepe.jpg

This one sums up my entire point of view. Pepecpoin, the dankest of them all. It's just weird. Also, Pepe died a few months ago. Fucktoken: I don't give a fuck has a brand new meaning.

Of course each of these tokens / coins were developed for a specific reason. If they will become mainstream like Bitcoin and Ethereum remains to be seen though. At least some of them are good for a laugh.