Rate My Crypto Portfolio Q2 2018

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

 Before I begin, I just want to say that I stole this idea from Louis Thomas’ (@louisthomas) content on Youtube and Steemit. If you haven’t checked out his content yet I highly recommend you do. 


So there are two reasons why I’m sharing my crypto portfolio with you and asking whoever sees it to rate it. The first reason is that I think it’ll be fun for everyone to read and critique. The second reason is for me to get ideas, advice, or criticism from the crypto community here on Steemit, hopefully, leading to me making better investment decisions in the future.  

I’m going show you a pie chart of the percentages of my portfolio then explain a bit about why I invested and hodled those coins through the good times and not so good times.  

Crypto Investment Portfolio 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Reasons for investing in these coins and projects (in brief)

Cardano 34% 


Cardano (Ada) has by far been my best performing investment. I was lucky enough to purchase the majority of my holdings in Cardano at around 2.5 cents when it first launched on Bittrex back in October. I bought my second batch at around 10 cents leaving my average cost per coin at 4 cents. So even though it took a massive hit in January and February, I’m still up and a big believer in the project.  


Why am I hodling Cardano? A few main reasons: it’s a protocol based currency, the team and organization, and Charles Hoskinson.  

Cardano aims to be a 3rd generation cryptocurrency by improving the existing model of how a cryptocurrency (specifically protocol based currencies) operate. It has three main areas of improvement over the first and second generation currencies: scalabitly, interoperability, and governance. Cardano also allows developers to create new projects on it’s platform using the coding language they are already familiar with, which I think this is a unique and massive incentive for new developers in the space. In addition, the entire team, IOHK (the organization backing Cardano), and Charles Hoskinson (the CEO) are some of the most professional crypto developers out there.  

Bitcoin 28% 

Bitcoin is the leading cryptocurrency for so many reason I don’t need to go into. My strategy is to always hold at least 20% of my entire portfolio (crypto and other assets) in Bitcoin.  

Ripple 19% 

Ripple gets so much hate and for the life of my I don’t see why. Ripple (Xrp) has a real use case and real rich customers. I really believe it has the potential to be a $10 coin sooner than most think. The reasons for thinking this is that Xrapid, which is the protocol where banks use the Xrp token, is currently in the test phase for some seriously massive banks and global remittence services including Monygram, Western Union, Woori bank in Korea, SBI, and a few more. If the tests are successful and these companies decide to use Xrp as a means of improving international payments, the upside for Xrp is massive.  


Icon 18% 

I’m so upset with myself because I missed Icon’s ICO by a matter of minutes. I came across the project for the first time when it had a few days left on its ICO and I was going to invest but stuff happened and it slipped my mind :( .  Anyway, I managed to pick up some when it first listed on Binance and I traded some other coins (Vertcoin and Substratum) for more right before it exploded in late December.   


The reasons for investing in Icon (Icx)t are really similar to Cardano. In addition, I believe this protocol based currency from Korea has the potential to have a massive impact on the Korea market. I actually live in Seoul and I’m witness to the speed of innovation and acceptance of new technologies on a daily basis. Icon already has partnerships with local universities, hospitals, government offices, and many more in Korea. I’m also speculating that in the very near future the Korean government will remove its blanket ban on ICOs in the country, which, in turn, will allow new Korean crypto projects to begin developing. I have a strong feeling they’ll opt for Icon as their platform of choice.


Ok, so that’s brief summary of my portfolio and why I’m hodling these coins. I’d love to hear your ratings and any comments on the portfolio.  


Cheers! 

Sort:  

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
ADACardano0.264$-17.19%-27.16%
BTCBitcoin8760.550$-6.39%-9.52%
SUBSubstratum0.585$-15.46%-28.09%
VTCVertcoin2.099$-16.63%-23.19%
XRPRipple0.685$-14.46%-23.42%