You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Numbers Big Again

Yep. My head hurts and I am pondering the vastness of the universe.

The first gob-smoking one for me is the difference in size between a million and a billion. I had no idea the gap was so huge. I would have guessed I would need to wait 16-17 years, in your scenario not 27+

And the other mind blowing one is the number of possible bitcoin addresses. That that can exceed the number of seconds passed from inception to heat death of the universe just makes my mind shut down.

So here's a little teaser for you. If you took the most powerful computer on earth and got it to run through every possible bitcoin address, how long would it take?

Or is that not even a viable question? 😁

Sort:  

Yeah it's a biggie :-)

It is a valid question, however the answer is boring, it's an NP problem for a computer, meaning it can't be solved in less time than the age of the universe.

Cg

Plus yeah, the difference between a million and a billion really impressed me the first time I truly comprehended it. :-)

Cg

We in Portugal call your billion a thousand of a million, and a billion is 1000 of those.

Not boring to me. Couldn't be better. I'm feeling dead impressed with myself for asking a valid question that is an NP problem for a computer. Can't wait to boast about it to my son.

It'll be fine as long as he doesn't ask me what NP means! null problem? no point? non performance? 😁😁😁

Hahaha, yes quick, it stands for non-polynomial (time), meaning it can't be solved in a reasonable amount of time, take of the non, and it can be solved :-)

Cg

I'm copying and pasting that @cryptogee. Going to find a way to use it.

Wish I knew it last Saturday. This bloke was banging on about the block chain. Determined to demonstrate his superior knowledge. If I could have thrown a bit of NP into the conversation I could have floored him!

'Course you always run the risk that they'll come back with something else and you end up looking a complete numpty! 😁