You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Altered Carbon - Enter The Realm Of The Immortals

in #cryptogee-musings6 years ago (edited)

Uh, where to start here?
First, let me tell you, I dint read that book, or watch the show. But, for what you say, I will really need that one stack, I have some things that I would love to remember. :D

Second, Do I want to be immortal? Of course!
I even google it "How to become a vampire?" (No results that helped me with this one. :D)

Freak me out? No.
It is ethical, right or natural?
Maybe it was all inevitable, unavoidable collision between mankind and technology. Singularity, or you can call it Transcendence.
It will be an exciting journey, building an ultra-super-intelligence. But the most important part of the journey is destination.
There will always be some group of people/religions that will try to stop that from happening, but is the inevitable way for humans and evolution. The Next big step.

Should be afraid?
Is up to ourself to figure out what we want, and do we truly believe that AI is something good or bad. For example, in one of the last TV shows of X-files, they try to scare (Maybe scared, is not a good word to explain that, but to put them in the wrong direction of thinking about the next step of evolution) people, tell them that digital immortality is bad.

Propaganda has been on her way already. But also there is Transhumanism party, in some countries they are even trying to win elections. (No luck so far.. )

There are "Three Laws of Robotic" (Also known as Asimov's Laws from 1942 and that is so far away from now.. ) I think that we need new solutions, and new laws.

I think people need to be more educated about AI, Deep Learning, Robotics, Nanotechnology, and everything that is coming. Because when we are afraid we become aggressive and blind minded. We don't think rationally, only emotions are involved, and when emotions lead intellect, certainly there is or will be a problem.

We don't wont scenarios horrified screaming humans, running out from the theatre/cinema, while the train approaches the station.

Perhaps my sentences make no sense, since it is difficult to translate into English what I really want to say. I hope at least something makes sense, and that you understood at least some of my thoughts :D