That time I accidentally became an anarchist...

in #ct-jaynes8 years ago (edited)

A few years ago, I was discussing politics with a few friends from high school via facebook and one of them posted an old video from a PBS broadcast of Walter Williams' "Good Intentions". Being socially liberal yet fiscally conservative was always a paradox to others until I started following the Youtube trail around and gaining more liberty-minded people in my online network.
Eventually I found myself on this video called "Sunset of the State" by this cheeky kind of Max Headroom looking guy with a charming accent. Never before then had I fully immersed myself in the idea that I may just be apolitical or anarchist. It was scary at first dealing with the walls of cognitive dissonance I'd built up through decades of indoctrination and propaganda. But eventually I discovered that fear was what was holding me back, and I faced it down.
Today, I'm proud to call myself anarchist. It's cost me friends and family, but that's always been the price of honesty. Love and liberty and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

And Stefan changes another life! Sometimes the path of philosophical honesty can be a lonely one, but for every friend you lose on this journey you gain understanding and awareness that they could never offer or understand. Much love!