My Travel Experience To The Netherlands On My Way Back To Ireland.

in #ctp2 years ago

My Girlfriend and I left Mexico 3 days ago on our way back to Ireland, but if you have read my last post you will know that, to get to Ireland it was best for us to travel to The Netherlands and get a flight to Ireland a few days later. So that is what we did.

Now I'll tell you all about how the first part of our travels went and how our short time in The Netherlands is going so far.

On the 17th, we flew from Cancun to Brussels. We arrived at Cancun airport maybe a bit too early because we just wanted to be there and not chance missing anything or have to rush through the airport. I guess we could have left it a little bit later and we would have been just fine but if we did I would have been stressing just as much waiting at home so at least we were there with plenty of time.

We waited at the Airport for a few hours before we could even check in and just chilled out with @misslasvegas and one of her sons as they came with us to says our goodbyes. She was great for waiting so long to wave us off. It wasn't the most enjoyable thing to wait around. After about 2/3 hours we finally checked in and then it was time to say our goodbyes and go through security. It was sad to say goodbye and just felt very strange, I've basically lived with them for about 3 years now and it's my Girlfriend's first time being away from her family for a long time. Of course it would have been very hard for @misslasvegas to say goodbye to her eldest child but we will hopefully see them again sooner than later.

After we said our goodbyes and they waved us off, we went through security checks pretty fast, to my surprise. I thought there would be long queues just because of how busy the airport was but nope, straight through. By this time we were so hungry so we made our way to Panda Express to get something to eat and chill out for a while.

After eating we made our way to the gate to wait some more, now we were super tired from all the waiting around and just wanted to be on the plane. To be fair, once we were at the gate it wasn't to long of a wait and we were on the plane. Finally I could relax a bit.

My Girlfriend is a bit of a nervous flyer so I tried my best to comfort her and not let her run right back off the plane. Once we were up in the air though, she got better and was more chilled out. I think it's the initial feeling of taking off that makes her nervous. I'm the one that stresses at the airport but completely fine on the plane and she's fine in the airport but not so much in the plane.

At one part of the journey there was this beautiful view, my gf captured it on her phone:
plane.JPG

The flight was about 11 hours and sure felt long but I did manage to sleep a lot of the time to make it go by faster. We got to Brussels on time and we were eager to get our bags and get on the train to Tilburg, The Netherlands but no we were stuck waiting for our bags for about 3 hours. It was ridiculous, but I guess what can you expect when you get one of the cheapest flights.

After hours of waiting we finally got our bag and left as fast as we could. Got some very overpriced Belgium waffles to snack on and headed to the train. It was easy to get to as they have the station right in the airport. Trying to purchase the tickets was a bit confusing but we were directed in the right direction.

We quickly got our tickets and basically ran down to the platform, we only had a few minutes before the train was scheduled to leave and if we missed it we would have had to wait another hour. Luckily we didn't and just hoped we were definitely on the right train. The train was a bit hectic because I had a massive suitcase and couldn’t really sit anywhere so we had to stand near the doorway along with others that had big baggage. We had one change over and thankfully the second train was a lot quieter. It wasn't too long of a journey, about 1 and a half hours.

Finally we made it to Tilburg. We were so happy to get there and chill out from all the madness of travelling. My gf's aunt greeted us and we stopped off at a store to get some groceries on the way back to her house. Our favourite part haha. We were so excited to get some yummy dutch food. Of course @whywhy we had to get some hagelslag and tijger brood.

dutch food.jpg

When we got to her Aunt's house she had made a nice salad with vegan chicken bites that we really appreciated as again we were super hungry. Then we just chilled out and went to bed early which was well needed, we were so exhausted from our trip.

The next day was a lovely sunny day so we decided to go to a swimming pool and try to make the most of our time here. We had planned to go to an inside/outside pool that had a few slides we could have a bit of fun on but when we got there it was closed, even though the website said otherwise. It was a bit disappointing as we were mostly going for the slides but there was an outside swimming pool close by that we went to instead.

This one only had a small slide and a pool for adults and one for kids. Even though it wasn't the one we planned to go to, we still had a really nice time . The water was a lot colder than the pools in Mexico but we got use to it fast enough. We all went on the slide once and of course I had to be the one that got stuck half way and had to end up pulling myself down with my hands haha.

Later we went to McDonalds to get a veggie burger meal that we have missed since we moved, Mcdonalds in Mexico never had any vegetarian options. They actually had a lot of options here and i ended up ordering a veggie chicken Mexican style burger. Ironic really.

After filing our stomachs once again , we checked out a few shops and headed back to the house. Watched some tv and went to sleep pretty early, we are still feeling really tired and getting used to the time difference.

Today the weather isn't as good so we’ve just been chilling out, enjoying some dutch snacks and trying to gain some energy back from travelling.

Thank you for reading :)
Until next time...

Sort:  

good to hear you made it safe to europe. the new chapter in your life will start soon.

Love the photo of the plane, really beautiful.

Those long flights ... great that you have some time to relax 😍

Glad you didn't run into the any of the traveling problems I keep hearing about on TV news. Thanks for sharing

That was some amazing trip I just read... Glad you got back safely 🙌

Voted from listnerds

You do know that vlokken is not hagelslag do you?
I mean white bread (Dutch white bread!) is so delicious with hagelslag, vlokken is ok too but I've always liked the cheap vlokken version best, none of the more expensive ones can top them imo.

But hey, what a trip! 3 hours waiting for luggage after such a trip, pff, glad it was not me!

Enjoy the few days in Holland and have a good trip to Ireland!

!CTP

Haha I did not, I just thought it was a type of hagelslag, but i did have the actual hagelslag last time I was here. They are both pretty good to me :)

Thanks for informing me, my gf didn’t tell me that haha.

Yes I was nearly ready to just leave the suitcase, it was so frustrating. We got here in the end though.

Well, it's close to hagelslag but not the same. I do agree it's very good with that type of bread!

I can imagine that you wanted to leave, I'm also quite stressed and worried with the airport stuff, afraid something happens that we will be too late, and I have no peace of mind until we are in the plane, but the same goes for the leaving the airport, waiting 3 hours would stress me out big time!

Glad it worked out though! Long trip, but at least you have the biggest part behind you!

Yes I love that bread, much better than the bread I had in Mexico.

You understand what Im like, yes glad that part is over with. Just for the rest of the travelling tomorrow. Hopefully it goes smoothly.Even though I am still a bit anxious for it, I know I wont be as bad because it's a lot shorter and easy journey.

Tijgerbrood met roomboter en hagelslag for the WIN!! Hahaha. There's nothing better, not even cake haha.
I'd kill for that now LOL.
It wouldn't be something you could import as it arrive here in a melted block hahaha.

I always thought Ireland was worse than Mexico. Everything has to be tried on its own skin really). I know your story in absentia from your friend's mother. All the more interesting to read! !LOLZ Well done to you anyway! Looking forward to your adventures in Ireland! And pictures!
!CTP
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@camthecreator! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

They are two very different countries. I like Mexico a lot more than Ireland but we have decided to go back for our own personal reasons and just hope we can return in the future.

Ireland can be a very beautiful place when the weather is right, which is rare but I do hope to travel more around the country.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@generikat(2/15) tipped @camthecreator (x1)
stdd tipped camthecreator (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Tilburg best city in NL, Tijgerbrood white great, but what is that next to it.....you were so close

Hahaha oops, I thought it was a type of hagelslag. I guess not, I did have the actual hagelslag the last time I was here and will probably get some by the time we leave.

As long as you know what the real good stuff is enjoy and say Hi to Tilburg for me its been a while. But loved the call out!

Haha, yes I do but now I know not to make the same mistake 😅. I will do, It's a very beautiful place!

What were you doing in my hometown? Lol. They don't have any bitcoin babies there, do they? 😆

Not anymore, but Seriously you are from Tilburg?

Kruikenzeiker, geboren en getogen. Partly that is. Born there. Moved to Kaatsheuvel (across from the Efteling), then Germany when I was 3. Back to Tilburg when I was almost 12. So my younger years, and teen years were spent there, as well as the years of my adulthood in which I wasn't traveling... Still too long haha. I never felt at home in the Netherlands.

Well if I felt at home somewhere it was Tilburg so if I ever go back..... Did you ever visit LOOS in 013 or Extase? Prob not...🤪

And no they don´t that BitcoinBaby left years ago

From Mexico to Ireland via The Netherlands. Cool trip!
If you like Dutch snacks you should try the 'stroopwafels'.
They are the best when you put them on your coffee (or tea) for a minute or two.

image.png

Ahhh I love stroopwafels! They are my favourite Dutch snack that I have tried so far. I haven’t got them yet this time but Im sure I will :)

But fresh ones top these any time hehe.
The very BEST stroopwafels are actually also from Tilburg.
The guy that has/had his stroopwafel stand at the market, used to be partnered
with another guy. The second one wanted more, the first one didn't. So the second one started the stroopwafel factory, which is making pretty much all the brands, including the ones for Albert Heijn and Kanjers.
I trained to make them with the first guy. Offered my work for free in order to learn the trade. Best couple of weeks of my life haha.

Love that jet wing photo! And so glad to hear that you both safely completed the first leg of your journey! Hope that jet lag abates quickly:)

!CTP

!PIZZA

Me too :) The sky was so mesmerising at that time. Thank you and I really hope it does.

Oh you made it! Glad to hear :) I wish you the best as you start anew in Ireland. Cheers!

Thank you :)

Congratulations @camthecreator! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Good to hear that you got back safely. And I hope your doggie's on the way back soon?
Veggie Mac finally for you - I didn't know that there was a Mexican veggie version, I must give it a try. Is there anything you're missing about Mexico already? Thanks for sharing.😊

We have yet to sort the dog's flight but that is our main priority when we get back to Ireland. Hopefully it will be soon. I didn't know there was a Mexican veggie burger either but maybe it's new out, I don't know but it was pretty good.:)

Im not missing much yet, but I know I will soon enough. Im liking not sweating constantly and having to take 3 showers a day. I mean it would be nice if it was a little bit warmer but right now i don't mind it. Although I know soon enough i'll get sick of the colder weather. The most thing I miss right now is our dog, it was sad to have to leave her and for her not knowing what is going on.

The adventures of traveling :). Sounds like your trip back to Ireland is off to a good start. It will be good to rest a few days before hitting the travels again! Enjoy the Netherlands. Great picture in the air!!

Yes it's been good to rest here in The Netherlands. Thank you for stopping by :)

Photos of Panda express or it didn't happen!
I'm not jealous of the trip or you being in the Netherlands and going to Ireland.
However, I AM jealous that you had Panda Express. But then again, there's no vegan orange or lemon chicken, so that sucks hehe.
Good to hear you're enjoying your time there, and have a safe trip tomorrow!

I hope it will go smoothly this time.

I'm wondering which pool you ended up going to.
It must be a newer one because I only know the one.

Sorry for replying so late! Panda express in my opinion wasn’t that good but I guess we only had noodles and veggies and the veggies seemed like they were sitting all day.

The pool was in goirle. Do you remember any pool there?