Two Interesting Books for Times Like These

in #ctp3 years ago (edited)

Investment Book: A Random Walk Down Wall Street
My husband recommended an audiobook he was enjoying. I looked it up and asked him to get me a physical copy, so I have just started it. Many of you have probably already read it, but this is a classic I seem to have missed despite its 1973 original publication date. The basic premise is that index funds perform better than micromanaged, scientifically chosen portfolios. If true, that is good news for lazier folk like me! I got in Hive Index at the beginning.

randombook.jpg

Political Book: Militant Normals
I have recently finished this dreadfully prescient book from 2018 in which Kurt Schlichter explained the Make America Great Again movement and (with frightening accuracy) predicted how the elite establishment and the Marxists would retaliate against the Normals (people like me.)

Here is one of the most spot-on passages: "They [the establishment politicians] will focus on both ensuring that the Normals never again have the ability to interfere in the Elite's affairs while punishing the Normals for their insolence."

Thus we have Biden (or rather whoever is really running the USA right now) holding unarmed Capitol protesters without bail as political prisoners while violent criminals are out without bail in major cities, foreign countries freely flood our southern border to replace American voters and workers, China gets away with biological warfare, and inflation serves as taxation without representation. My ancestors fled Europe under tough conditions. My progeny will have to stay here and fight until Jesus takes us home.

militantbook.jpg