Euphoria & Melancholia, Plus #Just1Thing To Launch My New Online Side Hustle...

in #ctp3 years ago (edited)

flexxity.png

Well, it's been 12 days since I posted on CTPTalk - so much for doing #just1thing every day!

The last creative thing I did in relation to the CTP community was to review Eliana's e-book, and then to broadcast a link to my review to my mailing list. That was on 18th May.

After that I guess I exhausted myself with a combination of teaching, watching too much stuff on Netflix, and watching a bunch of football matches on DAZN as the English Premier League season drew to a close. (Watching the progress of my team, Leeds United, in their first season back in the Premiership for 16 years, has been gripping, exhilerating, sometimes frustrating, but always entertaining.)

First Beach Party of the Year!

Then, last weekend, my attention was taken up by planning a beach party and then partying all through Sunday from around 2pm until 3am on Monday morning only to get up at 6am and go to college and teach.

beachbeach.jpg

Sorry for not posting here for a while, but I've been distracted with other affairs. >ahem< ;)

From Euphoria to Melancholia

In contrast, my teaching life is a bit sad at the moment as both colleges have gone into "online teaching" mode and the community centres where I teach have shut for the duration as Japan struggles with the post-Golden Week spike in coronavirus cases.

The thing I love about teaching is the personal interaction in the classroom. Now, there is the alienation of teaching online and then a flood of mostly slipshod "homework assignments" that arrives in my email inbox. :[

Over the last week I have gone from a state of euphoria last Sunday to a deep melancholia that set in around Tuesday and continued for much of the week. It was as if some Puckish fairy had translated me from an exuberant Petruchio into a sighing Hamlet.

Giving Myself Time

Fortunately, I had no appointments this weekend and have spent my time at home recuperating and putting myself back together again. Rather, letting time do its work until I noticed that my appetite for creative activity had returned.

During this "time out" I have been asking myself what on earth I'm trying to achieve with my online business. It seems devoid of any driving purpose or big idea right now.

Don't get me wrong, I love growing my crypto holdings both here on the Hive blockchain and my Bitcoin account. I have continued to collect a ton of satoshi every single day over on FreeBitcoin, which is really my favourite program at the moment. And yes, my CTP and Hive balances have continued to rise, albeit slowly, over the last couple of weeks.

But much of what I have been doing seemed stale and without merit.

I'm kinda waitin' to see what CTP are going to pull out of the hat next...

The Creative Juices Begin To Flow Again

Yesterday, for the first time in several weeks, I was keen to make a video. So I bashed out a video review of an online game of chess I'd played earlier in the week, posted it on YouTube and in the Chess Community on Hive.blog. That felt really good.

But it doesn't count as #just1thing ...

Then I pushed forward with my https://legendorama.com project and posted an update about it on my blog and in the Lego Community on Hive.blog.

But it doesn't count as #just1thing ...

Launching My New Side Hustle On Flexxity

Then, this afternoon, I finally got around to offering online-business-related service on the new Flexxity site launched by SFI earlier this year.

And that is my #just1thing for today!

I will let you know what it is once it has been approved!

If you have a service that you can offer - either an digital service, or something you can offer your community (gardening, decorating, whatever) then check out how you can use Flexxity to get the word out: https://flexperts.network/9613031/sp

I've decided to get back into offering my online biz expertise as a hands-on side-hustle. I hope to add several more services over the coming months.

Watch this space!

Cheers!

David Hurley
#InspiredFocus ?? LOL!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hirohurl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!