And then there were 4....

in #ctp2 years ago (edited)

If you have been following along for any amount of time- you know we have a little farm with a garden, some chickens, and ducks.

We have been having an issue with some of the chickens jumping out of the run and into our yard. We let them free range for most of the day, but the mornings- we reserve for our dogs to go outside, get some energy out, go potty- all those things. We have a 1/2 Huskey, so she does better in the morning before the day gets too warm.

Anywho..

We have some defiant chickens who will hop onto the fence of the run, and sometimes hop into our yard. Then I have to wrangle them into the run before I can let the dogs out.

It's a daily annoyance. .

Last week- all the chickens were safe in the run, so the dogs were out doing their morning business. I was about to bring them inside when I noticed 2 chickens walking along the fence. About this time- our dog saw too. She has run up to the fence before, and they usually just jump back into the run and go into their coop when she comes so I didn't think much of this.

I was playing with my son when I saw my other dog dart across the patio... I looked out the window and they were chasing a chicken!!!! 😰

I ran outside so fast! Door left open, no shoes, just took OFF!

I got to my dog JUST as she grabbed the chicken. I was SECONDS late. 😩 I pulled her inside and by this time, my son was on the patio asking about the chicken.. He kept asking- "mama.. chicken sad?" 😪

I wasn't sure how bad our girl was hurt so I got my son all set watching some Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, called my husband, grabbed some gloves, and went to check on the chicken.. She was gone 😭

IMG_3564.HEIC.jpeg

May was the sweetest chicken we had. She was smaller than the others and would run up to you and let you pick her up.. She will be missed on our little farm.

Hopefully the others learn from her fate and stop playing chicken (no pun intended) while our dogs are outside!🤦‍♀

Until next time..

-- Katie

Picture taken on my iPhone

Sort:  

bradley approve 3.gif

!BBH

!ALIVE

!CTP

P.S. Came here from ListNerds

@katiebeth! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (4/50)

@katiebeth! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (2/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

It is always sad when you lose a member of a small homestead.
It is, unfortunately, part of farm life.

!CTP
!LOLZ
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

Yeah- just didnt think it would be this soon :/

@katiebeth! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beststart. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ijat(2/5) tipped @katiebeth (x1)
beststart tipped katiebeth (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Yes those things happen.
!PIZZA

Yes, still sad though..

Congratulations @katiebeth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ah poor thing :(
I would have done the same and ran out without hesitation.. very sad that you were too late but unfortunately, part of life.
I hope your son is not too sad!

Take care <3

!CTP

I am pretty sure he has already forgotten lol

Sorry you lost your chicken, there are days like these in the farm, it is up to the farmer to learn from the experience and positively move on. Have a great new week.

Thanks! You too!

It is sad my friend, but you have a problem, chickens are escape artist and really believe the grass is greener on the otherside !LOL

Unless you completely secure an area for them this will continue to happen they will not learn by another chickens behaviour.

Your choices literally are secure the birds or train the dogs.

Have a successful week ahead sorry for your loss. 😎

@katiebeth
!ALIVE

They are 🙄 And they are not the wisest animal. LOL we are working on different options. Fully enclosing the area is not one of them at this time..

Yeah they are not very smart
!LOL
I am sure you will work it out have the best one

I'm so good at sleeping
I can do it with my eyes closed.

Credit: reddit
@katiebeth, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @benthomaswwd

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/4)

Sry for your loss Katie.As your father has said it's all part of farm life .Chickens and dogs don't mix.Keep the rest safe and the ducks as well.

Luckily, the ducks cannot fly! So they are safe!

Awww! Sorry to hear that, @katiebeth! It's always heartbreaking to lose a pet.
!CTP
!ALIVE

It was sad. But we have learned and moved on..

Life is full of lessons. That's the best thing to do. Learn and do better going forward.
@katiebeth
!ALIVE
!CTP

@katiebeth! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

You too Lisa. 👍🥳🎉💖

Thank you and enjoy your weekend! 🙏👍😀

@katiebeth! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Afternoon and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

How sad to lose one of the hens. A while ago something similar happened to me. A chicken escaped and I took it out of the dog's mouth. She was injured, but narrowly escaped death. We were afraid for months that the dog would get in or the chickens would escape. And one day what we had feared so much happened, but it was not as we had imagined. The hens were out of the coop and the dog did absolutely nothing to them. Over time the dog had learned on her own that the chickens were part of the house and that she didn't have to hurt them. !LUV

Oh no, Katie. I'm so sorry.
Dogs will naturally want to grab birds.
It's in their DNA.
I'm so sorry you lost your sweet little girl.
You take it easy.
Hugs.
Barb ♥️
#thriveonhive

I know.. shes a hunter at heart lol so we just have to be more careful

I really sorry that you lost May. It's heartbreaking I know. ❤️

Thank you <3

Congratulations @katiebeth! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @katiebeth! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

So sorry for your loss. I have had similar problems in the past. Thanks for sharing.

live and learn, right?