Writing in the wilderness - choosing between proven paths and possibilities.

in #ctpswarmlast year (edited)

Since, venturing off the relatively safe path of freelance writing over the past twelve months, I can't help but feel that I've been writing in the wilderness. I've strayed well from the beaten path and I've reached a point where I need to make some decisions about how I reach the next level in my writing career.

There is a novel with the tentative working title Elsewhere that is progressing at a rate of knots plus two books of short stories that have set my marker in the broad category of dark, speculative fiction. I enjoy writing in the genre. There is plenty of scope to explore possibilities, choices and the darkest corners of my imagination. I can't see myself leaving that genre.

The difficulty I have now is reaching the next level.

There are a couple of routes that are worth exploring. Some are more traditional than others. All require oodles of time and/or money. That is because I'm one of the most stubborn people around. I like doing my own thing, so I chose the self-publishing path. The beauty of this is that, it's relatively easy to get a book together and have it competing for attention in marketplaces like Amazon and Barnes and Noble. On the flip side, I have to do everything myself. Promotion, social media, advertising, prospect creation, follow-up, etc. That isn't necessarily easy and because I'm a self-publisher my Kindle eBooks seem to be at the back of the Amazon queue, waiting to be anointed with the Amazon suitability seal. I should have submitted them straight to Amazon, but had faith in my self-publishing company. Lesson learned.

So that's me writing in the wilderness, and stretching my thin resources and even thinner levels of patience as far as I can to write, promote, network and engage. I couldn't be happier (Well I could be if Spielberg or someone offered me movie rights, but let's keep it real, shall we?). Besides writing my daily word quota, my main focus now is to build my tribe. I've identified some really promising advertising avenues specific to my market and need to make the most of them.

Membership sites

For the last couple of weeks, I've been toying with putting some of my work on Patreon. the principal idea was to build up another income stream and create a tribe of supporters. It's good in theory, but there were some issues around how much I distributed at what levels and when. I also would prefer not to use Paypal (Long story, part political, part commercial).

I can use some plugins on my site to drip "content" out to paying members. The good membership plugins cost a couple of hundred dollars. That isn't a game-breaker, but I want to be sure of a)the plugin and b) my business model before doing that. I recently purchased a plugin for much less to perform a different function and have been seriously disappointed. Alternatively, I have some membership software that could be used, but that would involve purchasing another domain name and setting up another site. I don't have time to do that.

Writing in the Wilderness Deep Dive -the Hive Community

I've been a semi-active member of the Hive community now for probably five years. Hive is a decentralised blockchain community that empowers and rewards members.

Lately, I've noticed some members publishing their stories there. It's an interesting development. The big drawback for me is that while all content on Hive gets rewarded, there is only a seven-day window for rewards to be applied. After that, my work is freely accessible and I get no reward.

There is talk about the seven-day window being extended, but at the moment it remains a big drawback.,

One option might be to post excerpts from short stories on Hive with a link leading to a membership site to get the full story. I'm not confident that that will work either.

So, at the moment, I'm caught betwixt and between. I know I have to make a move, but the question is which one is the right move.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://markhodgetts.com/writing-in-the-wilderness-choosing-between-proven-paths-and-possibilities/
Sort:  

Hi Mark,

I think it would be a good idea to post excerpts (with some commentary about the excerpt, etc) on Hive and link out to your membership site, and you can also add a link to landing page where people can opt in to your mailing list.

Good luck!

!CTP
!ALIVE

@markhodge! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hello David.
Thank you for the excellent suggestion. I was leaning in that direction but was getting a bit lost in the details.
!CTP

IMO

BooksHive Contents
Money from the buyers until it's not in production anymoreMoney from the voters in 7 days accumulation
Build fame as a book writerBuild fans/followers as a content creator
Spread in the community + Readers + Articles + AdsPromoted in the community + Hive socials + Reblogged by others

There are some story writer goes to Youtube and become a storyteller in their video. With good annotations, they can attract people who don't have time to read books to listen to the contents of the book.

So, at the moment, I'm caught betwixt and between. I know I have to make a move, but the question is which one is the right move.

When you think of "Which one is the right move?", I think the answer will be: "Which one do you like to do the most?". Sometimes if you like to do both of them and you can manage your time to do both, Why not? But, If you don't have the time it'll be back to which one do you like the most between those 2?

Without a good mood to do that, the result of your content or book will be bad for readers.

Hope you'll get the answer that suits you the most.
!PIZZA

Thank you for helping me to get my ideas straightened out. I'm closer to making that decision now
!CTP

Hi markhodge
Good luck with Amazon!
Hang in there.
Barb :)

Thank you for the good wishes.
Its too big a market to ignore
!CTP

I get how difficult it can be to make a decision. I tend to analyze things more than I probably should. But sometimes you just need to pick the good enough is good enough for now and adjust later path. If that makes any sense. Best of luck with whatever choice you make.
!ALIVE
!BBH
!CTP

Hi Lisa, yes I too am an overthinker sometimes. It is true, that I can switch course later if necessary, but the sand is running through my hourglasss and it isn't going to last forever
!CTP

The time waits for no one. Looking forward to learning what choice you made. Have a great Sunday😆
!ALIVE
!BBH
!CTP

@markhodge! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/50)

Good Morning and Thank you, @bbhbot! Enjoy your day.😀

@markhodge! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

@markhodge! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/50)

Good Afternoon and Thank you, @bbhbot! Enjoy your day.😀

@markhodge! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Afternoon and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cursephantom(3/5) tipped @markhodge (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.