Imitate Your Mentors

in #ctptalk2 years ago

ListNerds Banner

First Choose Your Mentors Carefully

As a child, my first mentor was my Father. Literally, in my eyes, the man can do no wrong, and when I think he has, I get feelings of guilt. He made me tough, smart, and crafty. I owe him a debt for taking the time to teach me what he did.

Then I joined the Marines, and while serving the Corps I had many mentors that taught me a lot more than the scope of this post can cover. That being said the best thing I received from USMC is that gut feeling to never give up, and fight with everything.

Even now I have mentors, they help with internet business, content creation, cryptocurrency, social media conduct, etc...
I could list their names, but I am shying away from that as I do not want anyone to think I am trying to solicit upvotes and comments.

Page Divider Image

Keep in Mind Mentors are People Too

This is true and maybe a little silly spelling it out like this. Quite a few of my Mentors here on Hive have pretty hefty upvotes, and their comments on a post reflect brightly on the author of the post. We need to keep in mind that they have been here since before Hive when it was all Steem.

They have worked very hard consistently to achieve the level they have whether they are Dolphins, Orcas, or Full Whales, it does not matter. Their HP or HBD are not ours to demand. I only say this as a friendly reminder to myself because sometimes I get a little too familiar with people.

**Really Should Mention @jongolson @blainjones @elianaicgomes **

Really had to because if not for those three I would not be doing any of this content creation, engagement, curation, live streams, etc... Nor would I be able to see what this level of activity can really have a Compound Effect with consistent performance over time.

Hive blockchain rewards us for content creation, curation, commenting. This type of social platform is helping to train me to use my content to draw people to me. In this way, I am a much better marketer than I was before. That is because before I was trying to make money for myself and now I am just trying to help people to succeed at their online businesses. It is a much better approach.

That Being Said, Slow & Steady Wins The Race


ListNerds BannerClick Here to Join ListNerds

Remember earlier when I said our mentors have been at this consistently for years, we need to slow down sometimes. I tend to be the "I will do that" Guy. If a job needs doing I roll up my sleeves and get it done. No use complaining that just sucks up more time.

Online I tend to over-commit myself or make unrealistic goals.

This can kill a business before it starts

I have a rigid business plan and a daily mode of operation. There is a checklist I follow every day. It is made the night before. This keeps me laser-focused so I can get done as much as possible.

I am also making sure that I have as much Hive Power as possible building up every day. I am staking CTP, ListNerds, Index, Leo, 1UP, Worker Bee, and a few other tokens as much as possible. What I am trying to do is not to liquidate any of my targeted Hive and Hive Engine tokens.

This can be very difficult especially if you are like me and giving Hive activities a good chunk of your day. I have used Hive and HBD to buy things I have also used CTP, DEC, 1UP, and other tokens to purchase goods and services. Yes I am not turning the tokens into Fiat but they are still being spent lol.

Page Divider Image

Blain @blainjones is always saying "Pick 1 thing and get really good at it" that quote is not an exact quote but he says that multiple times a day to us. It is very true, we tend to remember the people that can do 1 amazing thing.

I will pick 1 thing and then add another, and another until I am crazed, exhausted, and broke. That is right adding stuff costs money. When we are trying to imitate our mentors we need not try to be them all at once.

When @jongolson @blainjones @elianaicgomes started on hive they did not start out as Dolphins with a bunch of Servers running, and the world's first on BlockChain Mailer from day 1 or day 1,028. They had to build up to where they are, day by day, just like the rest of us. The difference is they are still doing it daily after all of these years and are enjoying the fruits of their labors.

Page Divider Image

Listnerds Anyone?

If you have not already joined ListNerds, you should join now by clicking the banner below. Those that join with my link will get bonus CTP and ListNerds tokens from me. I will also help you get set up, help with email plan, HTML guidance, and more.

Click The Banner Below To Join Now

ListNerds Banner
Click to Join ListNerds

Thank you so very much!!

Media Tenor GIF
Media Tenor GIF

untitled.gif

Sort:  

Mentors will come to you throughout all your life, and sometimes coming from the least expected corners. I've been inspired by many on Hive (&Steem) and made connections for life as well. I probably learned more valuable things in the past years than the several years before I joined in real life without having access to people around the world, with (often) like-minded views on the world.

And I cherish that :)

Here's a !1UP for you!

Thank you so much for the tip. I must credit you for inspiring me to make my blog posts and emails look better. You raised the bar and I appreciate that 👍

Good post Chris. I believe it is important to remember lessons learned from our past as they can nurture us and remind us to stay on course. It is so easy to get off course when working online. There are always distractions but that is just part of the fun.

That is true, sometimes the pressure to follow a distraction is greater than the pressure from the consequences of the distraction lol. I do love the freedom of being home-based.

Mentors are very important. They know the ropes . Even our Mentors have Mentors.
And even people we admire can be wrong at times that is what makes us human.

That is very true, we are all human and fallible 👍

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @thisismylife!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@leo-curator, @ctp-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

Mentors are definitely quite important and they can definitely help speed things up for you. They have quite a bit of good advice as they have been in the field longer than you too. Nobody will be right all the time and things change over time, so advice that worked 5 years ago might no longer work.

That is the truth, we always have to learn and grow as being outdated or having old info can be damaging.

Having a good mentor is essential, but how difficult it is to get a really good one. But having a clear plan and goals is essential. I would add that we must not give up and insist that the results finally arrive.

I agree not giving up is key. 👍

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@drunksamurai(3/10) tipped @mba2020 (x1)
curation-cartel tipped mba2020 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Hey Chris, this is the first post I'm reading from Listnerds since the revamp! I'm glad it's yours! ;)
A great post Chris, mentors ARE important and more importantly one should listen to them and put in pratice their advice, just like you are doing!
You get an upvote, comment and reblog from me! ;)
Have a great day, Lee :)

Thank you so much for your support. 👍

You're very welcome my friend, you deserve it! 🤩👏
!LUV

Look to those on Hive who are showing up each day and taking action. That is who one needs to follow and mentor.

Keep working one's way up the ladder. Over time, one starts to stand out and attract the attention of others on here.

That is great advice, and I will gladly take it. Thank you.

Mentors are people too. Learn from your overcommitments but remember, goals should be a challenge but not impossible. Having goals helps keep you on track but if they are too lofty, they can have the opposite effect. Great post.

That is very true, thank you for adding to the conversation.

Very important key points to being successful here. I'm glad ListNerds brought me to this post.

Welcome to Listnerds, how has your experience been so far?

I am grateful for the mentorship I have had at each stage in my life. I went a little crazy adding more and more things to my plate. Not any more. Especially right now. While I have this outside gig I am focusing on the things that get me the most return on my time investment. That is the biggest lesson I have learned.

That is a great lesson, had I learned it earlier I would not be in this mess lol 😂

I have a lot of expensive lessons. Too many to count.

They never stop coming, lol almost daily 😀

Right?! OMG LOL



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

ListNerds is awesome!

!PIZZA

On that we both agree 👍

Having a good mentor can help you a lot in achieving your goal much sooner than you think possible.

I am finding that out to be very true.