Life Can Throw You Lemons!

in #ctpxlast year

What a week!

If you have read my previous posts, you know that I caught Covid 3 days before I was to fly to Thailand. Yeah, not good timing!

I called the booking agent and they cancelled my trip and issued a full credit with $0.00 change fees. Sounds great, Right? About that . . .

A rant, sort of!

Everything was was getting better. Tested negative, got off quarintine, and it was time to see about flying again. That's when things got . . . messy?

It all revolves around the credit usage policies of Priceline.com. Yep, I'm calling them out!

I called the booking number and told them the dates I wanted to fly. I 'supposedly' have a credit for $1278.15. But when I call and they check flights, amazingly enough, it's going to cost me $8,000 MORE to fly for a total OVER $9,200.00! Now let me be clear here, the flight I wanted was listed on their own website for $1,122.58. Not even close to to the cost they were telling me.

Now, I might have gotten a tad pissy, but Holy Crap people, that's insane!

When I told them I could book a flight in Business/First Class for less, the nice man on the phone said it was because I wasn't booking it on the website, which made it more. The thing is, I couldn't use the website. I had to book on the phone for the credit. And when asked why, all he could do was continue to quote the $9,000+ ticket price.

I asked for a supervisor (yeah, I went all "Karen" on them) and was put on indeterminate hold. I hung up an hour later.

The resolution . . .

Priceline.com can kiss my a##! Not sure yet what I will do about the credit, but I will NEVER use that service to book another flight, even if they are cheaper.

I went to JustFly.com, which I have used before for flights to Thailand, and booked a roundtrip for $1,328.00. I fly out at 6:00 am on Sunday, 9 April, for two months on the farm in Thailand. Hell Yeah!

And I have free baggage, flight changes, and wifi!

Fun times ahead!

Yep, headed to the "Land of Smiles" just in time for the upcomg Songkron (Thai New Year) festival! It starts on the 13th and runs through the weekend. There are a lot of traditional ceremonies and parades, but it is more known for being the largest water fight in the world! Squirt guns, hoses, buckets of water, it's all fair game! I will be on the farm in Maha Sarakham and may venture into Khon Kaen to partake of the event.

So all in all, the issues are resolved and the journey continues!

Life may toss you lemons, but the lemonaide can be mighty tasty! Never give up or you may miss out on some of life's greatest adventures!

.
Best Regards

Richard Taylor

"The only limits you have are those you impose upon yourself. Remove the limits!"

.
P.S. I hope you enjoyed my rambling. Let me know in the comments and maybe give me a follow. I look forward to hearing from everyone!

Sort:  

It's amazing how companies are literally trying to lose business rather than build loyalty lol

Thankfully, I've never used them, won't in the future either.

It was the first time I had used them, and the last! I fly often now. Their loss, someone elses gain!

Thanks for the upvote and reply Jon!

Congratulations @crazycowboy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!