Python Worship Among The Igbos of Nigeria. Part 1

in #cultue6 years ago (edited)


Image credit

Image credit

Hi guys and welcome to my blog. Top of the day to you all. On my introduction post, I emphasised that I will be blogging extensively on African culture and traditions and yes today, I am starting with python worship among the Igbos of Nigeria. This promises to be interesting and enlightening. Just read on.

How do you feel when you visit someone in another land only to be greeted by the sight of pythons? What will be your reaction when you see inhabitants of the community you visited indifferent about these serpents? They treat them with utmost reverence and dare not kill them. They equally warnot strangers about the consequences of killing these non-venomous snakes. Will you shout and scamper for safety? Your guess is good as mine.

WHO ARE THE IGBOS?
The Igbo people are an ethnic nationality inhabiting the South Eastern part of Nigeria. They are among the three largest ethnic groups in Nigeria, the other two being the Hausa/Fulani in Northern Nigeria and the Yoruba in the South Western part of the country. With over thirty three, (33) million people according to Nigeria's estimated census, the Igbo people are well educated, prosperous and tenacious. They are itinerant and thus are scattered all over the world. The Igbo are native to seven states out of the thirty six states of Nigeria. They are also found in huge numbers in other parts of the country. Notable personalities from Igbo land are late Chinua Achebe, the author of Things Fall Apart, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, a powerful literary giant, Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala, former Managing Director of World Bank, Mikel John Obi, former Chelsea Football club midfielder, Kechi Okwuchi, a plane crash survivor and a finalist at the twelfth season of America's Got Talent and a whole lot of others.
They Igbos are predominantly Christians. Albeit being Christians , a huge number of them relish their rich cultural heritage. Some are core traditional worshippers, although they are in the minority. One of the customs of the Igbo people is python worship which I will be dwelling on subsequently.


Image credit

My Experience With The Python

I was in high school then about twelve years old.I had gone on a holiday to my aunt's home in Umuoji, Idemili in Anambra state. My parents didn't tell me about the famous pythons of Idemili. They didn't think I would encounter one probably. But I did meet one and it was one of the scariest moments of y life. I had gone downstairs that fateful morning only to see the beast coiled up in the compound. I screamed and scampered for safety. My heart was palpitaing, my feet were numb, my whole body convulsed vigorously. I thought I had met my death. My aunty and her family laughed at me and later assured me that nothing would happen to me that the python was harmless. They told me there were several others. I couldn't bear it. My daddy came the next day and took me home. I never went back there again. My friends had had similar experiences. One of them actually uploaded the python pics on social media and I am glad I found them for this exposition.


Image credit

These pythons are found till today in many communities in Igbo land. They are called Eke mmili (python of the river ). Yes, these pythons are children of the godess of the rivers of Idemili and Njaba, where they are largely found. I will be stopping here today. Anticipate more on these series on Tuesday. Your comments and upvotes are well appreciated.

Follow me here and enjoy other wonderful expositions on the rich cultural heritage of Nigeria and Africa at large. Happy weekend to you all.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Thanks @wafrica. I'm following already.

Great post bro. The future is bright

Definitely bro

Was doing some poking around for documentation of the steem-python programming language and was pleased to see that there was Python Worship Among The Igbos of Nigeria. It turned out to be a different kind of python... yet very interesting all the same! :)

Lol. Yeah, a different kind of python entirely. Thanks for coming around.

Interesting, I don't know why but I never really associated Africa with pythons (always think of smaller, venomous snakes). My wife is malaysian, so lots of pythons there!! big ones...reticulated, burmese, etc

I had several pythons as pets growing up (ball, burmese). They are fascinating creatures when they are in a decent mood, however when they get angry, they can be a pain in the ass. Got bit in the face a couple times, no fun! Anyhow, now I know the Igbo people worship them which is pretty cool ;) thanks!

Jeez! you did have pythons as pets in your precocious days? That's fascinating. Good to know though but I can't stand them. I'm ophidiophobic.😂😂😂