Made These Comics To Compare Chinese Culture With Western Culture Through Everyday Life

in #culture6 years ago

My name is Arslan. I was born and raised in Italy , and I’ve spent last 10 years traveling, studying Chinese culture and working abroad in the US, UK, and France learning the culture . Many people that I met were curious about China, but their impressions of China would end up with words like ‘communist,’ ‘pollution’ and ‘no Facebook.’ While many facts are true, the contemporary, living and multifaceted Chinese life is rarely heard of.

   I started "tiny eyes" comics a year ago in the hope of sharing Chinese culture through everyday life, To me, learning about other cultures has always been a fun experience, and I want to pass this feeling to people who are curious about China. In lots of my comics, I compare Chinese culture to western culture. Through comparison, we realise how differently we act in front of the same situation and how we tend to think in a certain way instead of another. In the end, every culture is "weird" in its way, but it’s also the weirdness that makes it interesting. 


 I post regularly every week, and I share slices of my personal life and experience through Instagram. I hope you enjoy! 

Instagram : Globetrotter_verified

#1

image

#2

image

#3

image

#4

image

#5
image

#6

I’ve experienced student dormitories in three countries: In the U.K. I have my own private room with shared public space; In the U.S. I shared my dorm with one roommate; In China, I used to live with 5 boys in the same room. This lack of privacy must be shocking for some of you, but in a country with 1.3 billion population, space is always a problem. While there are many inconvenience not having enough private space, on the bright side, sharing a room with someone also makes you learn quite a deal about **communication** , **responsibilities**  and **tolerance** .

image

#7

 Maybe you have heard that Chinese eat cats. A few horrible people in some obscure places maybe, but the majority, NO!! 

image

#8
Sushi is Japanese food

image

#9

Beauty = Thin. “Gaining weight” brings absolute horror for many Chinese girls, even though most of them are already considered thin in other cultures. I’ve seen girls who eat only one apple a day and who drink special tea (which makes you go to toilet 20 times a day) in order to lose weight in a very short time. Movie stars and super models are pushing this aesthetic to its extreme through mass media. When will we be able to simple enjoy being who we are? 

image

#10
Not every Chinese wear traditional clothes

image

#11
In China, people don't say anything after someone sneezes

image

#12

It takes me sometime to get used to making constant eye contact when talking to people. Traditionally, Chinese people tend to avoid direct eye contact when talking to each other, which is a way to show respect and obedience, but in lots of western cultures, especially in English-speaking countries, avoiding eye contact signifies hesitation and dishonesty. (Correct me if I’m wrong.)

image

**At last i just want to say that i am disrespecting any culture moral of all this blog was just tell you guys to respect other cultures so you will same from them **

Please vote if you like this and agree with my concept