Missed Connections

in #culture6 years ago

I remember a time when it seemed that we had greater connection as human beings. In my opinion one of the challenges now is that there is a greater dependence on connection through gadgets. I find myself sometimes checking emails, and text messages when I am with someone. Have you ever been riding with someone and either of you spent the time conversing with someone who was not with you about something that could have waited until you were not together? Then, once the ride is over either you or the riding partner call to have the conversation missed while you were together..
Sadly our fascination with technology and gadgets hinders our capacity to live or be present in a given moment.
I have discovered through contact with patients in hospitals and nursing , that just a few minutes of human connection does more for my spirit than hours of conversing through gadgets.
I have determined to make the effort to cultivate human connections. I will minimize checking emails and texts while e people that I am with in real conversation. How are your "connections?"

Sort:  

ive been feeling the same way so i asked myself, "what am i subscribing to?" not only with payments (hulu, spotify, soundcloud, brazzers (lol jk)) but with my time, the things i do, the places i frequent, the music i listen to..... how are my connections and what am i subscribing to and if they were to change would my impact on others and quality of life improve?

awesome food for thought!! But.. You can really check it out

Congratulations @clgrahamz1265! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!