You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Cultural Overproduction Killing Story Structure?

in #culture5 years ago

This was an excellent read. I have felt this way about stories for so long, and I'm the only one that I know that feels this way. So it turns out I am not alone in this world after all. I was born in 1986, so I guess I represent a generation pretty well inundated with media, although not as much as my children could be (if I were to let them be.)

I think people that are excited to go see a movie and get lost inside it must be some of the happiest people. How pleasantly simple life would be if that simple story line didn't seem...simple. That's why I started writing, because just consuming it wasn't fulfilling. I think on some level in my case, the boredom is just a deeply ingrained need to work thing, like you mentioned. It can't be over-stimulation on my part, because I don't consume very much media, although I'm guessing for most people over-stimulation is the culprit.

In people that experience chronic anxiety there can be a sense of being distanced from the self. I wonder if in our society, where there is over-stimulation and a high rate of comparison to our peers and therefore stress to be the best, I wonder if that disassociation is resulting in a need for uninteresting real life experiences, even if they are simulated. Sort of like grappling for a return to our ordinary selves, the way natured intend us to be. I think I have officially overthought this. I even began that sentence with "I think," which probably proves my overthinking thought ;)