The Power of the Dress

in #culture6 years ago

I cringed last week at my high school-aged sister-in-law's concert, when I saw her neighbor sitting before a crowd in a skirt, her feet planted several inches apart in a firm, yet revealing, posture. My sister-in-law generally refuses to wear skirts, deeming them uncomfortable. When she does, she insists on wearing shorts underneath as a backup.

I get it. I do. But a trade-off is being made.

Clothing traditionally worn by women – skirts, dresses, high-heeled shoes, nylons, etc. – have drawbacks. They can be uncomfortable, occasionally untrustworthy, and difficult to navigate the world in. However, they encourage a number of positive habits and behaviors young women are not learning today.

For instance, women's clothing encourages physical poise. Skirts require the wearer to be attentive to their position to avoid ride-ups, snags, and flashes. The same is true of shirts that reveal decolletage. Done well, no one notices the effort, and the crisp lines formed by a well-done S-sit scream of general competence.

High-heeled shoes teach grace and endurance. Nylons, fussy fabrics and jewelry teach young women to care for their things. Makeup, done correctly, teaches creativity, moderation, and honesty.

The use of these tools can communicate maturity, composure, attention to detail, confidence, and beauty. In the appropriate setting, these attributes can help a person go a long way. Neglecting to practice during youth will limit a person.

I'm as committed to comfort as the next gal. I wear makeup perhaps once a month, opting for jeans most days of the workweek and thriving in a pair of men's Levi's on the weekends. However, when the mood strikes or when the occasion arises, having the tools of femininity in my arsenal is an advantage I do not take for granted.

I remember how I thought my mother was just being an old lady when she insisted I wear nylons with my skirts. Maybe I sound like that now? I'll understand if you think so.