You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ladies, Here's 18 Rules To Make You A Good Wife

in #culture4 years ago

He was a product of those times, born of two Greek immigrants in a small town in Appalachia. Just after WWII with tripe like this all over mainstream media, impossible expectations of everyone, man woman and child. He had a booming voice and was quick to anger, a powerful local leader, and a demanding father. Yeah, I tended toward invisibility if he was around.
I remember one argument of my parents' very clearly, when she wanted to go back to teaching once her youngest was 8 years old. He said "No wife of mine is going to get a job." She did it anyway. That may have been one of the times she threatened to vamoose.

Sort:  

Oh how interesting owasco..I would be so scarce if he was around too. Your mom went ahead and got the teaching job. I bet he was thankful, at least eventually, for the additional income. She was gutsy!