Bell Tower in Soo Deck Sa Temple

in #culture7 years ago

20171028

The most famous thing in Soo Deok Sa temple was The Das Woong Jeon, one of the oldest wooden building in Korea which was built in 1308 AD.

But the bell tower in Soo Deck Sa temple was as much as impressive to me like the oldest wooden building.

It was not easy to look at the whole components of Buddhist bell tower in other Buddhist temple.

Only specially large scale temple has whole components of the bell tower.

It didn’t seem that the bell tower in Soo Deck Sa temple had been built in for long time ago.
But it was so beautiful in style of architecture of bell tower it self and the colors of the building.
It is common that the bell tower is located in higher place in temple when it is possible. But in this temple, the bell tower was in the front yard of the temple which was lower place in this temple.

There were 4 components in Bell tower. Each components has it’s own meaning.

First one was the Drum.

Sound of the Drum means the teaching of the Buddha specially for the livestocks

It is the symbol of Harmony

Second was the cloud pannel which was made up of metal
This pannel was for the birds. The sounds of the cloud pannel means the teaching of the Buddha for flying things all around.

Third one was the wooden fish.
It is the teaching for all fishes in world.

Last thing was the Bell

They strike the bell in every morning and evening in temple. The Bell sounds stand for the teaching of Buddha for all creatures. The Bell is main instrument for spreading the teaching of Buddha all over the world.

The bell in this bell tower seemed to have been made not for long ago.
It was small and humble.
In the corner of the temple, I could see the original Bell being protected.
I took the photos of that Bell, but unfortunately I lost some of those photos.
It is sorry to show you parts of the original Bell.

I’d like to visit the temple Soo Deok Sa once more to look at every thing more carefully.

It is strange I always felt what I lost after coming home.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Something I've thought about for quite a while is what China would have looked like without Communism. I wonder how it would've been...

beautiful photos today, @slowwalker, of the Bell Tower in Soo Deck Sa Temple.

The four Buddhist instruments in the tower are fascinating for their purpose and significance

The sound of each instrument has a function relating to various beings within their realm.

The idea generally was that the sound of the various instruments would spread Buddha's teachings throughout the whole world, even to the animal kingdom.

I found that he brahma bell apparently was sounded in order to release beings in hell from their sufferings - a sobering thought.

This was an interesting tour of a bell tower, my friend,and your photos helped show its beauty and significance.

Great photos and post

Hi @slowwalker,

Your blogs of Asia are always interesting!

Thank you :)

Every day that I read your blog they seem to be more and more interesting you have my vote & resteem. I appreciate you taking the time to share with us keep up the good work and steem on my brother

It's awesome old picture.

Ancient civilization was superb, specially in wooden work, the photos of Soo Deok Sa temple are brilliant. Your's photography also excellent @slowwalker

Hello nice post sir I follow you https://steemit.com/@hrsh

super boss i like it

So amazing! Just by looking at photos you can feel calmer, it's probably 10 times more beautiful in live. Joy for the soul, visual and acustic.

I like the way you narrate and your photos are in-depth

The photos are amazing

Very beautiful

Thanks for the date. It puts so much into perspective.

Amazing temple

wow very old building 1308, but still sturdy until now,
steady good post my frends @slowwalker
I upvote and resteem

What a beautiful harmonic temple.
Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Thank you, slowwalker for important information
We were eager to visit and take a souvenir!!!

perfect photo shoot friend, looks very good friend

Amazing building!

wow.i am very glad to see your post.thanks for this valueable post.good luck.i will wait for your next great post.

It is a very interesting place to visit and I'm glad you had the opportunity to see it

@minboot resteem this Post .
Follow me to Resteem!

Made of wood and more than 700 years old...hmmm, this is a miracle! Or they just change the weathered wood parts to new elements.
And, of course, these temples radiate a very good energy.

I can feel the peace and tranquillity. This is an extraordinary photo and explanation. Thank you for sharing.

Magnificent!

If you like travel and to discover something new please follow my account https://steemit.com/@annamur

extraordinary post. the information and photos are very good.

Nice Photos! Also check my Channel :)!

this is a whole new orld for me, I just did my first post and i discover with great pleasure this opportunity to "visit the world" through your post, thank you!
I would so love to be my guest when you have time, in my @countrylife!

Soo Deok Sa temple is a great opprtunity i like your post and thanks to you because you share a good information

It is awesome post and picture. I want to go for travelling to Korea this year.

Amazing ....
Great post

Hello @slowwalker
as i am from india
and your blogs are very impressive and good..
upvoted and followed you
kindly do this same for me

Thanks for information

truly awesome to explore this thanks for sharing

is it in the outskirts of the city?

Congratulations @slowwalker, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 23 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $1059.72. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

A pice of history this temple, i always wanted to go in a temple!

Really curious how this bell sounds & resonates,
As an indicator; I like Tibetan sound bells for example.

one of a kind! amazing place!

charming...
such a great post

I'm really intrigued by your culture and the Bell Tower. Your history goes back many centuries. Here is a photo of a Bell Tower in my city. I wrote a post about it last spring, you can see it here.

A few days ago I wrote another post concerning another historically significant display in the same park. You can read it here.

You can see the difference in the autumn and spring seasons in these photos.
Thank you @slowwalker!

Not only that the photos are entertaning and beautifully taken, but also what you share with us. There's always something to learn in an interesting way. 🙂 Upvoted and resteemed.

wow
pls follow me & my post comment @anisullah

Keep on walking brother !

There are 2 pages
Pages