The biggest culture shock i have ever faced in London

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

I had heard that London is very expensive. When I landed there, after couple of hours, I went in a local chicken shop (as they call it, it's basically a fried chicken shop) to get something to eat. I gave the order and asked 'how much'? The guy on the counter said "Three forty nine" and I thought "Oh My God, London really is expensive man... A chicken burger for three hundred and forty-nine pounds." I said sorry, I did not bring the money and went out of the shop to stay hungry rather than spending 350 pounds on a chicken burger.IMG_5562.JPG

In China , we do not use hundred most of the times when we are telling the price. For example, if the price is 150, I would say one fifty rather than one hundred and fifty.

Later I discussed this with a friend and you can imagine what would have happened.

The burger was 3 pounds and 49p.

Sort:  

Ha ha. Poor you. I'm glad you soon found out that you could afford to eat after all. Phew! I find shopping in a foreign country can be a daunting experience in any case and trying to count out foreign notes and coins can put us under pressure.

Yes,that's what i was feeling 😂

Congratulations @syp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's pretty good, I can appreciate this.

I really have a great time in London and people there are very nice which are completely different from what thought before