You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Cultural Overproduction Killing Story Structure?

in #culture5 years ago

Oh @honeydue, the last thing I'd want in the world is to make you sad!

Maybe I'm over-generalizing from my own tastes and experience. I understand the Joker movie did very well, though I've never been able to stomach superhero movies.

And we have been under a tremendous amount of stress lately. It may be that there's more than enough drama going on in our lives right now, so we just don't have room to seek out any more in fiction. Just after I wrote that post yesterday, for example, we discovered that the wife's car needs $1600 of work to pass a state inspection, the basement in our antique house was flooded with 1.5 meters of water and the water heater was blown out (with guests arriving in 24 hours!) and then I got off the train to discover that the headlights on my car weren't working. When I got home I had to attend to draining the outside faucets in the dark as a freeze was settling in, and wrestle with a shut-off valve that needs to be replaced because it won't shut off anymore.

This has been typical of a month with extended power outages, clogged bathroom drains, and backed up cesspools that required locating and pumping with expensive equipment. At least yesterday's flood was fresh water--the previous one filled our basement with sewage. This is during the busiest and most stressful weeks of the year at work, with the regular 40+ hours and 25 more commuting with frequent train break-downs and delays.

If other people are working as hard (and are as stressed out) as we are--and I suspect that, among the younger generation especially, this is the case--lots of the young folks at my last gig were working three jobs just to support themselves, their parents, and sometimes their children--I can totally get why someone would turn on an ASMR video of a woman brushing her hair or folding paper or getting a massage, instead of seeking out more drama.

Maybe the other factor in play here is simple lack of leisure time. Drama and excitement are a lot more appealing when you have the opportunity to get a little bored. Boredom used to be quite fashionable among Gen-Xers in the 90s, but I don't know anyone who has the chance to get bored today.

Sort:  

Man, that is a pretty shitty streak, I'm sorry :( But I'm sure it will get better! I do understand why you might not want more madness with such a hectic schedule...From that point of view, I suppose it makes sense.

but I don't know anyone who has the chance to get bored today.

You think? While there's a lot more entertainment, there's also a lot more demand, you're always pushed to be doing something, as you said, productive, to "live it up" and I think that with all this constant pressure, adrenaline or hectic life can really get rather dull after a bit. Also, people's constant need of being entertained (listening to a podcast, checking your feed, reading a post, watching a video etc) is making them much more easily bored in the rare instances where there's nothing to do...that's just my opinion..

I understand the Joker movie did very well, though I've never been able to stomach superhero movies.

Aah but that's the beauty of it! :D It's not a superhero movie, it s a psychological portrait of a man breaking down in a society that's turned its back on him. It's fascinating and very well built, story-wise, really recommend it ;) I hate superhero movies too, Avengers, Spiderman, all that, never really got the point.

people's constant need of being entertained ... is making them much more easily bored in the rare instances where there's nothing to do

I was thinking more about the fact that people have to work so hard to make ends meet these days, but yeah, the few moments of idleness we do have left are gobbled up by snack sized entertainments as well, which become the only meal.

It's not a superhero movie ...

All right, maybe I'll give it a try when it comes out on Netflix. It sounds like they're just using the comic book marketing angle to sell a story that didn't even have to have to be in a super-hero universe? I guess that could be a way to transition people into more complex stories. But I kind of hate how everything has to be part of a franchise to be successful.