You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

I be quite new and am just getting the "feel" of the steemian culture, which is currently evolving.

It just occured to me after reading through this post and comments that as bitcoin is proving to be the "gold standard".
It seems like a social media like steem is seeking to find a way to measure "quality" for a lack of a better word.
So it occured to me that just as we have Bitcoin as the standard of currency, perhaps the next step is Bit-Citizenship. Which is the direction the Steemit seems to be going and where many of the questions seem to leading.

Anyway to avoid being long winded boring, I will just throw out there the notion of the measure steem might be about is the idea of consuming less.
This is the opposite of the conquer and consume mentality which envelopes most current global cultures.
I am sure many here are thinking along similar lines.
As the concept of curation has us looking for a measuring device, but a device to measure less, not more.
Just some food for thought as this has got me thinking, I'm sure others are thinking similar ideas.
Cheers...

Sort:  

Interesting thoughts. It may well be that the reputation management and quality control aspect of Steemit is one of the most valuable aspects and it will be interesting to see how it evolves.