You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Expanded Guidelines (Early 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

Thanks Curie :) I'm always happy to see a upvote from you on some of my posts.

The way I view the quality of my content is by these categories I've invented in my head. So I have my "usual" content, which are my videos that I share here from my channels. Some of the "usual" content can be what I share on my website too. I also have a few things that are more like "filler" content, which is something that fans enjoy, but that doesn't bear too much meaning for the average person. Like my Transcript, it's cool, people asked for it, but it's filler content, because it's an extension of videos I made in the past.

I also have "engaging" content, which can be from Q&As to contest and challenges I participate in on Steemit, which also categorises as "Steemit exclusive" content.

I have "personal" content, which is anything about me, my healing and that sort of thing. Some of that is sometimes exceptional, depending on the specific blog or video and its particular topic.

And then there are "rare gems" content, that is so different from everything else, even if something in another "category" was considered exceptional to someone, this is something that is rarer and that even I consider to be exceptionally special. Things I feel have value to a lot more people than just a niche community. These are my very special things. Sometimes stories and fiction can be part of this.

That's how I see it in my head, and of course it's subjective. Some days I write something I find awesome and it doesn't gain much traction, and other days, I write something to me is usual, and it gains a lot of traction.

I love how we all share here and these guidelines help me with evaluating my own content. It also helps with expectations. My usual and filler content, I don't have high expectations for it on the rewards front, so I'm always pleasantly surprised when it makes over $1. Some other content, I might feel it's a shame it didn't do as well as I would have liked BUT if it's something I know is good, I know that it brought value to someone somewhere, and that's good too. Even if it doesn't perform as well, I will use those posts for contests, and as examples, and as reminders for other posts and such.

As we all help each other get noticed, we help each other grow, bring new people to the platform, and together we make this community a great place to share content freely.

Thanks again Curie.