You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some additional thoughts on @reward.app after the announcement

in #curation4 years ago

I’ll have to check out the rewards app thing. I think I saw something about it recently but weren’t entirely sure what it was. Looks like I’ll have to take a look at it to understand it.

The vote trails have kind of hurt me as well. Most, not all, of my content is a lot longer than many peoples. I’ve been very grateful to get a good amount of support from groups like Curie and Curangel but once they visit my posts, that’s basically it for rewards on them. Occasionally I will get a couple votes but most often it’s not much, if anything.

It’s tough because I really appreciate the support I get but I feel like it’s kind of limited once the projects vote on it, there’s nothing else after. Too much focus on curation rewards and maximizing it. I’ve been doing strictly manual voting, regardless of the time the post was made and I’m getting 9.4% APR. Some are obsessed with 15%+ but it’s kind of silly, I think.

Anyways I’ll go check out that account. Thanks for the post and trying to get people to manually curate and talk to people!

Sort:  

Yeah, believe me when I say I put a lot of thought into this and if I wanted to go ahead with it or even have my name connected to it as I could've remained anonymous due to part of it's controversial nature. We have the best intentions of directing this so it is used as well as possible and this would also mean curating posts that go through us, by that I don't necessarily mean that we'd actively curate these posts just because they are using us with our own personal accounts but also downvoting content that is garbage that are using us just for the promotion effect of maximizers voting on it.

It's gonna be interesting to see how it gets used and develops further.

Really, by the time curie or curangel get to your post if curators haven't already got to it, they aren't going to anyway, because they've missed the early window. Any adding to it after that are doing so because they enjoyed the post or it was pertinent to the community, if it's a community curator.

Then everyone has a bit of a cut off as to whether they think you need more and that will depend on what they're used to seeing reward wise. For example, if I see a really good post and my initial instinct is 100%, but they have above $30 in rewards, then I will likely drop my vote considerably, because I know there will be other good posts with much lower rewards that can benefit more. I think we also base it around what we're used to earning on posts. If we only regularly earn a couple of dollars, then why would we want to reward someone who regularly earns more, unless it's to get in early and earn from curation? However, if we regularly earn higher rewards, then it's a no brainer to add more to anyone earning less. We also have a bit of a default where we want to reward the under rewarded to encourage them more. Curangel, for example, won't vote anything that already has rewards at $10+. Many of the curation projects focus on under rewarded or newer accounts.

It's actually really hard to not take that reward figure into account when it comes to voting habits. It would be interesting to see how posts actually get rewarded if we didn't see that figure until after the post paid out.

Thanks for the great comment! I know you help with Curangel and have helped one or two of my posts, I appreciate that.

I think it might be the communities or the content of the posts I’m doing that don’t get much. I love doing DIY things because it’s fun for me but the community isn’t there much to engage with people. I could be biased though because the natural medicine and eco train communities are such power houses for engagement lol. I wish some of them would engage with others more, we learn things for sure when we talk to others in things like DIY. I’m happy with getting to a few dollars for post payouts but sometimes a 10% vote (regardless of hive power) and a great comment go a long way on my opinion. I think what I’m rambling about is once a post gets to a certain dollar value people just breeze past it in search for more rewards elsewhere.

I too adjust my votes depending on the potential rewards. I’ll drop a 10-15% vote on things that have already been well rewarded unless it’s an author I like, them I’ll give more.

I don’t know if it’s a habit now but I don’t think I’ve really given out many 100% votes anymore because I’m trying to spread my votes to as many people as I can within my voting power limits.

Ecotrain and NM really do work to encourage engagement as much as possible. There are a couple of people who will pull us all up if posts get missed for engagement. 😉 It helps that there is a growing group of people who are really passionate in those areas.

DIY is one of those things that is great to have as a go to for a broad range of people, but often it's something that they look up when they need it rather than it being a regular passion. Hopefully as more passionate DIYers come along the community will get more active.