Curie Author Showcase (February 22nd, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Curie Author Showcase.jpg

  • In spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.


Featured Author: @nathankaye
Open Mic Week 73 - Wings (Original) - naTHAN Kaye - ONE-MAN FESTIVAL



Screencap used with permission from @nathankaye

Having supported some of Australia's biggest musical artists, and fresh off a lead acting role in an Australian feature film being released in cinemas in 2018, Nathan Kaye has now exploded into Steemit Open Mic with a bang! He’s the globe-trotting powerhouse who thumps out songs on slide guitar, slide-didge & self-made electric footdrums.

At the core of his multi-tasking abilities lies a big-hearted man with a powerful mission to inspire people to make the most out of life, with his talent-packed show that has to be seen to be believed. Trust me, you’ll be better for it. It’s the best sweaty, dirty, sexy, good-vibed foot-stomp you'll get from one man:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@nathankaye/open-mic-week-73-wings-orginal-nathan-kaye-one-man-festival

I believe we are all extraordinarily gifted and unique! The difference between whether we live our dream or fantasize and hope for it, is action. Since the beginning of my artistic career, I've been driven by a concept of fertilizing the seeds of the dreams that exist inside of everyone, but I had to start with myself first. I call these the ‘dreamseeds.’ In order for people to understand and receive what I’m transmitting I need to truly embody the truth of it, by being energetic, bold, unique and by truly enjoying what I create and do with veracity.

We can’t fix the problems in the world, economically, socially and environmentally, if we are not, ourselves, on a journey to fix and transform whatever problems that plague us inside, and that takes a positive shift in perspective.

So, find the thing that gives you wings to fly high in life!


Featured Author: @jordanpike
VALLEY OF DEATH - Chile Trave Vlog



Screencaps used with permission from @jordanpike.

You really don't have to spice up the landscape of Chile's Valle de la Muerte, it speaks for itself. The amazing high definition footage of a drone flight here would be worth the price of admission alone, but @jordanpike delivers a really entertaining vlog to go with it. Jordan has fun. Every moment of this vlog is imbued with joy through his spirit of enthusiasm. In his introduction post, Jordan notes that chasing his dream to be a full-time travel vlogger/filmmaker has not been a massive success story... yet. Follow this promising vlogger today to change that narrative!
https://steemit.com/travel/@jordanpike/un2awgug

My overall mission is to share my travel experiences with the world, in hopes of providing entertainment and inspiration to all. I believe most people have big dreams, but they give up on them too easily. I want to prove anyone can make their dreams come true, no matter what they are, with persistence and hard work. If I can help my viewers to chase their dreams, while I'm getting to chase mine, my mission will be a success!

Featured Author: @spederson
Big Falcon Rocket - The Challenges (part two)


Image Credit

Mars exploration is one potential use case of the Big Falcon Rocket being developed by Space-X . What challenges would a human crew face on a voyage to Mars? After looking at some of the hurdles the rocket itself will have to clear in the first part of this series, @spederson examines the physiological and psychological effects of an extended space voyage on human passengers in our showcase post:
https://steemit.com/steemstem/@spederson/big-falcon-rocket-the-challenges-part-two

Questions like this are no longer purely academic or in the realm of science-fiction, so I read this with great interest and eagerly anticipate the conclusion of this series. @spederson reports the third and final post could be published as soon as Friday, and will look at landing on Mars. UPDATE: 3rd post is up! https://steemit.com/steemstem/@spederson/big-falcon-rocket-the-challenges-part-three

I teach exploring space to Juniors in a private school and cover a lot of this material. I have a Master degree in Space Education and am very passionate about anything space. This is a very exciting time. Many countries now have a strong aspiration to expand into space. As this happens, this will challenge lawyers to meet the demands in changes to treaties to support commercialization of space.

Featured Author: @thebugiq
Wasn't Expecting That



screencap used with permission from @thebugiq.

This is a multi-faceted post from a multi-faceted author. @thebugiq gives us a heartfelt cover of Wasn’t Expecting That by Jamie Lawson, delivering the vocals with exquisite control. A slideshow of original photography accompanies the music with family images and nature shots. The lyrics of the song give you a sense of what is coming in the rest of the post, as they take a sad twist but never lose the underlying feeling of love. The original poem (intentionally written as if by a hurt and confused 12 year old) and prose that follow take the house of love and sadness built by the song and tear it down to the ground to reveal the pain of a child, abused and alone. In a moment of truly beautiful writing that both speaks to the depths of despair and the potential for life and love, @thebugiq describes shooting a bird as that youth:

A little black bird that I killed, changed my life forever. It gave me an unexpected gift. As it silently died, something passed between us. I had stolen its voice. And so I sing for it now. It extinguished my anger, and gave me peace with the torment in the world around me, and a desire to never hurt anything again in this world.

This is a powerful post, a post that approaches a painful topic with honesty and from many angles. Take the time to experience it from beginning to end and it is a cathartic journey. A journey that against all odds ends up in a place of love and healing:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@thebugiq/wasn-t-expecting-that

As a result of facing down some things from my past, I am starting a Discord server called The Steem Pound which is a place where people can find health and balance to take care of themselves better. If people are underweight, overweight or want to feel better it will be a place where folks can come together to talk about cooking, recipes, 'getting moving again' stories. Victories and failures are welcome there.

See @thebugiq's account of his battle with weight for more on the motivations behind and goals for this new Discord server. Although the channel is still under construction at the moment, here is the invite so you can save the channel: https://discord.gg/qqsnaj6


Featured Author: @alice-is
The Silk Road Diaries: Pamir Highway, Part I


If you think you have driven a challenging road, talk to me again after you have read this post. This is not so much a travel post as it is an adventure story!

@alice-is participated in the Mongol Rally, a 13,000 mile road rally from the UK to Mongolia for charity. Our showcase post begins with some misadventures around border crossings in a militarized zone. Once finally across the border into Tajikistan the journey continues with the drive up the Pamir highway. There are some explosive surprises along the way as well as several more challenges to overcome. This is a very rugged and inhospitable road and landscape, but it makes for a riveting read, well illustrated with original photography:
https://steemit.com/travel/@alice-is/the-silk-road-diaries-pamir-highway-part-i

Alice is an explorer-of-edges:

I've been traveling the world for the last 15 years, making friends, making mistakes, and collecting tales along the way. I'm a wilderness-freak, a PhD-quitter, a lover of trees, song and simplicity, with a dry sense of humour. Currently blogging about a 13,000-mile overland adventure from the UK to Mongolia!


This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie community representative @carlgnash with input from other Curie curators and reviewers.

Sort:  

This is amazing. Thank you so much for featuring me and what you're doing! I'm going to check out all these other creators you've listed here! Really great work!

Thanks for getting out there in the world, having adventures and sharing them with us! You rock! Much love - Carl

I still can't quite believe I got Curie'd and featured here - thank you so much @carlgnash @curie! I am deeply honoured. I've had a writer's block for the last 2 years having quit a PhD, and this is the first writing I've done since that time - so it means a lot for it to be picked up and appreciated. Looking forward to checking out the other featured authors! Keep up the hard work!

Thanks for sharing your adventures with us @alice-is! Looking forward to more! Much love - Carl

Wowser!
What a surprise to be so new to this amazing Steemit platform and be included and honoured in this wonderful list of creators! (To quote one of them, @thebugiq "I wasn't expecting that!").
Thanks heaps mate (reread that sentence in an Aussie accent!)! I deeply appreciate it @carlgnash . 🙏🏽

For whoever reads this: Keep doing what you love every day and your passion will grow, but remember that there are also the waves of life. Good things and bad things come in waves. If we spend our life chasing the good waves and trying to avoid the bad ones we will get disappointed.
Instead,

find the thing (or things) that give your heart the wings to fly high in life!


Now, I'm not speaking of finding a person (or people). You can't control other people and what they want or do.
I'm very specifically speaking about your life-purpose and passions. Something that you can do everyday that you love to do.
The more we create the better we get at it and the more valuable it becomes for other people too.
Blessings on your journey, you creative being!
I can't wait to see what you share here on this Steemit platform.
🌟

You have some amazing energy my friend, thanks for sharing it with us! Much love - Carl

I feel very honoured

to be on the showcase with such a diverse and talented group.

Thank you @carlgnash for reaching out.

Without @curie I am would honestly not have been as hopeful about my potential success on the platform.

When day to day rewards

can seem like gold is garbage and garbage is gold, I appreciate your sincere effort to seek out and find hearts that are being shared.

Thanks for that, and thanks for opening up and sharing some really beautiful and personal posting here. Much love - Carl

Let me take this time to thank you guys for the double whammy of making steemit a more enjoyable experience by exposing honest good works and for helping encourage and even partly subsidize artistic endeavors. You have opened up a lot of possibilities for me. Not sure I can thank you enough.

Congratulations to these great writers, you have a special nose for searching and finding talents, how do you do that anyway ? XD

While this may be a rhetorical question, the short answer is, it is not easy! It takes a lot of hours from a lot of dedicated curators to find the exceptional posting upvoted by Curie every week.

Is it only for english content or is it language independend?

Curie is for English language or at least bi-lingual English language posting. Curie does support some sub-communities by following the vote of the community's curation team, and some of the regional sub-communities do support non-English posting; you can see the full list of the sub-communities supported by Curie and the users who head up each sub-community in the weekly update published right here on @curie blog every Sunday. Cheers - Carl

Thanks for the detailed answer. I stopped bilingual Posting, because I had the feeling that I dont find a way to reach an english community.

Great selection! Each one with a unique style and I really feel that the Heart is the primary incentive in their work, not the money! :)

Yes that is a common theme of this week, and really most weeks. Great content creators are rarely doing it for the money; typically creative types will create regardless, but let's be honest - the reward is nice :) It feels good to be a part of an organization like Curie that rewards creators who would otherwise be doing this just for love anyway.

Much love - Carl

Still not using the logo from the contest?

Not yet but soon

excellent work you are always doing, much success and blessings and may God illuminate your path. @curie

success always @curie I like like you, how.

Wow Really nice post

I can sew amazing entries that was uplifted, couldn't help but notice a few open mic entries, not bag for the week, amazing job here

Good job.. Thanks because always give and do best... May good bless you...
👍👍👍👍👍👍

hi Curie,
I am following you and I see great writers you support. It is really hard to see and explore talented on such crowded platform. this challenging task're wonderful. you are very good at the curatoriality. I congratulate you on this and thank you.
Maybe it'll have the opportunity to browse my work. I will wait for this :),

The #curie community is just wonderful. You are doing a great job by rewarding those outstanding contents and by helping to motivate the authors to perform better through this showcasing.

Good job you did here @carlgnash.
Kudos to you guys

Good job @curie.
Please help me

Thanks for your contribution to this community @curie. Thanks for promoting undiscovered but exceptional content. The community honestly appreciates this.

pleasant & pleasant!

I see the average post they deserve it. I hope someday I become part of those who are appreciated by @curie. Thanks

Lots to see, listen to and read. As always, thanks for the work you do curating the incredible collection of artists and authors.

I love the way you mobilise to help content developers can the best from the Steem platform. Thanks so much

Great selection! A greeting @giornalista

blatant hijacking of thread by steemit gangsta dTube dabba: in the matter of videos having a shelf-life of about three weeks there, I tried reloading some older vids under a new post at dTube and they do play--but--strangely--so do the originals now! stoo range ness.

yeah it must have been an IPFS issue if the older ones are playing now as well. Suppose it isn't too strange that there are growing pains.

not all the older ones will play; just the original versions of the ones I reload. reloading everything will take a bit more dedication--and it will be interesting to see if the reloads too will stop playing in a couple of weeks. also--and you must have noticed--the bots really are taking over here. put up a new post in my blog and the instant I clicked to post it I had ten responses with upvotes--all from one guy with ten different accounts, all with identical content. beware the bitcoin mining bots!

Hey @curie :)

Just wanted to say thank you so very much for the up vote on my post :)

Means the world!

I'm not excited anymore playing esteem because no one vote me ,,,
here people think of themselves, the great reputation is great, we are small when it develops, everytime my good-karma post also does not memvote me. this is my complaint that the reputation is still low.

Interesting postings and strong character mister I like to read this article

this is a really nice initiative and I am following you now. A question, would it be possible for me set up my own curation trail? I write biographies on the photographers and then I showcase their photos for a week in order to get them some support and well deserved recognition, so it would nice to set up something like this for the community project!

You can very easily set up a curation trail on steemauto.com. It is relatively self explanatory but if you run into problems feel free to look me up on Discord @gnashster#6522. Cheers - Carl

thanks so much @carlgnash, I appreciate the offer and the explanation!

Nice post.
Please am a newbie.
I followed you.
Please, i probably need your upvotes on my posts.

good work!

Awww that black bird post made me remember what happened with the chick I bought for a science class. Oh lordy i cried so much after what happened. Never again! 😣 Breaks my heart that I did such a thing.

I wonder if I should also write about it on here... Hmmm.

feel like a giggle?

i will always support @curie for your concern on discovering quality content

Good evening at the beginning it is very hard to be able to share its articles, that's why I am there and I discover steemit at the same time as the curie project.

I will try to succeed in the process to get closer to your community. who I hope will recognize the steemian in me.
I always think of steemit, whether at bedtime or when waking up. It became my passion.

Thank you for the people you are.

This is wonderful! The curie community is a blessing to all the hidden talents in steemit and inspire others to do their best as well. Thank you for this!

good post,thank you for sharing

I hope I could be one of these featured authors someday. Thank you for inspiring us. 🍻

Congratulations to all feautred authors. This surely encourage everyone to create a quality content. Congrats!