You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upvoting is not curation! So I want to manually solve curation for my own purposes...

in #curation7 years ago

A way you can help give value to an old post is by making an engaging comment for the author to reply to, and upvote the comment they reply on. Or, upvote a similar topic of theirs. I was actually just thinking about that today and I think that would be the best way. Even going as far to say "Please reply to my comment because your post is no longer within the upvoting time, so that I can give you an upvote." OR SOMETHING. But that's one way you can still contribute to that post specifically.

Sort:  

This is something I've considered as well. I just wasn't sure if comment rewards were tied to post rewards or not, as in once the post pays out the comments no longer pay out. I also considered upvoting more recent posts telling the author that I'm upvoting because of an older post and giving a link to the older post.

I suppose there are ways around the seven day limit.

I think that it only counts for comments that are also older than 7 days old. I don't think it would let you upvote if a new comment on the post wouldn't be pay-out-able.

I think you can still upvote posts that are older than seven days old, so I don't see why it wouldn't let you vote for a comment even though it won't pay out. I'm probably wrong, though, I still don't quite understand how everything works here, haha.

Have you tried upvoting something older than 7 days? I haven't in a while, but I think it gave me an error message. Haha I don't quite remember.

I think when I first started I upvoted an older post, but I can't remember.

I think it does not earn anything after 7 days. I was thinking about a way around that. If I'd leave a comment on the "old post" and the author responds to that, the comment itself CAN still earn since it would be younger than 7 days. So people who re-discover the author could sill support them!

That is Genius.