You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago

You make some excellent points here. The balance of producers to consumers is indeed way off. I wish I had a solution but sadly I don't. I wonder if the situation would improve if it were easier to sort content. Not everyone is a "jack of all trades". I'd argue that most people prefer posts about a certain topic specific to their tastes. Clearly I love Star Wars. It would be cool if my feed could be filled with all the Star Wars posts for the day. I know I can search tags but it would be much easier if that were my home page. If we all had more personalized feeds, I wonder if people would actually read more.

Sort:  

Excellent points.

I'd argue that most people prefer posts about a certain topic specific to their tastes.

This is one of the reasons my feed is a nightmare - I follow a lot of people who post on various topics but only some of their posts are about something which I am interested in. If there were a more intelligent way of constructing the feed - perhaps as you suggest using tags and maybe even other ways to personalise it, it would make the job a lot easier.