You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago

I don't have a lot of steem power, but as a level 65 rep, and experience on this platform, I curate in the way of comments, suggestions, and guidance.

Not always do you have to affect the reward pool to make someone feel better about the work they've done, or to correct some misbehavior by a new user who thinks they can game this system unnoticed.

I don't have a large roster of people I've curbed who started on the system and started copypasta posts, or blatant spam. But I can count at least 6 people, I, myself, got them to either change their ways or abandon their efforts when they were abusing the system.

Now imagine if those 6 people were to proliferate and continue... this place would be an even bigger mess.

If people would do similar things, of any scale, we'd all win. We don't need just me doing it, but hundreds more.

[not that I suggest I am the only one doing it. I'm just giving a conceptual example]

...so if you have significant steempower, yes, absolutely, please help curate both good and bad content by upvote/downvote.

...if you have little steempower but a good reputation, yes, absolutely, please help curate both good and bad content with simply words on people's blogs. It is quite effective.

..finally, join and seek out and support curation groups who do good work in this area. At least part of the time... even if it means delegating a tiny portion of your steempower to the cause [if you are technically able to figure out how to do it]

Thanks for this post and bringing even more awareness to this issue. Curation continues to be one of the challenges of this system.

There is absolutely no way to "code in" a perfect botted solution, or algorithm to do what humans must do...

Proper curation will always need human labor to be involved.