You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curie Whitepaper

in #curation6 years ago

This sounds like a novel idea, I'm certainly interested in seeing what comes of it. I love finding new posts from people who don't have much exposure and that I wouldn't other wise be exposed to. This sounds to be a great tool for me to find such things.

But I wish that there was also a system in place that found exceptional comments. I've found that it tends to be a chore to find those golden comments on posts, the ones who invite interesting conversation.

I think that one of the things that's lacking in the comment sections is, first of all, the sheer lack of content. The comment sections are often completely barren, even on popular posts. And secondly, a lack of quality. Too many comments seem to just be emply platitudes that consist of some generic "Great job!" or "Great story". They rarely even address the post's content or envite discussion.

As a many years-long redditor it's obvious to me that much of the interest in a post is seeing what others truly think about what's been posted and the conversations that then branch out into even more educational, entertaining, and just plain fun exchanges.

As a person who rarely posts and is always looking for conversation in Steemit, this has been a real frustrating thing. I think that there are plenty who are starving for that dimension to the Steemit community to be broadened somehow. And I think that having some sort of more robust incintive may hold the key. Right now I only get a very small reward for my comments.

And I think that this will draw more people from reddit (like myself) who have become tired of all the negativity there. I myself went far and wide looking for an alternative. Over the years there have benn droves of peoole asking around about where else one might go to get away form the many frustrations and negative factors there.

Steamit could easily become a new home for many many redditors. But they will get bored with these empty and unengaging comments. Not to mention being sparsley compensated relative to posts.

And, not to toot my own horn, but I easily become part of the century club(having over 100k upvotes (downvotes facored in) without playing any of the games that people use to mass karma. it was just by commenting wherever I felt like it and when I felt like it. And I've said that to say this. With my considerable esperience in the matter I know that an interesting comment section can prove to be at least as nearly attractive of an incentive to frequent a place like Steemit as the posts are.

I think that commenters just need a more fair recognition to their efforts and talents. Already there doesn't seem to be much incentive to waste an upvote on a comment because it profits few. IMO, this is a no brainer.

Sorry for the wall of text. Old reddit habbits die hard, lol.

Sort:  

I agree completely! Comment curation is woefully underrepresented on Steem.

And as much as that is a problem, the lack of comments and people engaging in those who comment on their posts/comments is a far larger problem. The whole place feels like a gathering of exhibitionists who interact for no reason than to get more eyes on them.

Yeah the comments and interaction are the glue of the community. Sadly, it's something we don't see more of. Part of it is the lack of incentive and obsession with post creation for rewards. That explains the lack of comments on posts in general.

But on posts with a lot of comments, it's hard to get a discussion going. Comments tend to get lost and drowned out with the current format. The ChainBB interface does help with that imo and it's something i recommend for anyone looking to start a discussion.

It took me a minute to wrap my head around ChainBB. My initial response was "Ugh, what an ugly ui." Which, as I recall, was my first response to 4chan, (many many shameful ages ago), and subsequently reddit.

But dat functionality, doe! @jesta makes some ugly babies on the outside, but he(?) knows how to make shit work. Color me convinced.

I couldn't agree more with what you are saying here. Many times as a @curie curator I have seen a phenomenal post, fully worthy of the large upvote received from @curie, with no comments at all or maybe just one comment from the curator that found the post. It is a real shame. The economic incentives do not align with commenting so I have a lot of respect for those people who do spend a portion of their SP upvoting comments because it is a labor of love at this point.

Happy to follow you after reading such a great comment :)

Much love - Carl

I'll have to follow you as well, and make my to @curie.

Tiene mucha razón, lograr una interacción sería lo realmente valioso que se pudiera generar a través de steemit la web del tesoro. veces solo respondemos a los post sin profundizar o aportar a la temática. Una tarea por hacer. me sumo.

I used google translate for your comment, which doesn't really translate very well.

But, I think that you were saying that the real value in Steemit is in the interaction, not The Steem. Which I couldn't agree with more. I hope that more and more people come to value Steemit for the community and the interaction. Maybe people will come for the Steem, but they will more likely stay for the community.

Thanks for your comments and perspectives coming from Reddit.

No problem. Steemit could really benefit from emulating the success of reddit. As long as they avoid those horrible failures as well.

The more you know.... :P

And knowing is half the battle