Curator Remark Anthology - Why I think Your Post Deserves a Big Upvote from Curie

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

book-2617231_1920.jpg


A little while back I announced this series of a curator remarks anthology. For some heads up, I volunteer as a curator for this platform's biggest (and I think most effective) guild: Curie.

Curie is a "meritocratic community curation project" on the Steem blockchain, with two levels of curation and quality assurance that plays out as follows: As a Curator, I propose a post I feel meets the guidelines set by Curie. Then a Reviewer (most times more than one) verifies and votes on (or rejects) the post. This anthology is a collection of remarks I made the past week (and a little catch up from the previous one) on some posts I submitted. This is me "arguing" for an author's post in the comment section of the submission form, why I think it deserves a generous Curie vote.

I have to mention that Curie votes on the best undiscovered posts on Steem. My comments are not intended to sway from that objective, but to make a case for my adjudging any post exceptional. I also intend this to serve as feedback to the community of creators, in the spatial instances where I pointed to objective reasons why I thought the post was great. Even if it fails at that, this is me sharing my sticker notes of cool things I say about people who commit to quality content creation.

To the main thing, I will try to give a little summary of the post in question, embed the link, and add my comment. I will skip adding the link where I feel my comment hits on the vulnerability of an author that they may feel edgy about. I mean that is totally left to my discretion. And I will remark if I won that case for the author.



Let's start with a catch-up from last week...

Nanung can’t standstill; Bimbilla is rising

Here @ehmkannde makes an engaging post about Bimbilla's tribal war. He builds the compelling story around a tale of friendship gone sour. The post is a tribute to his Ghanaian ancestors and calls for peace. Makes a very compelling read.

My Curator Comment:

“This one? This one is a really reclusive and loud voice. All the period I kept wondering if this was fiction or the real plight of a people who don't seem to live too far away from me. Whatever it is, I feel the spirit of Bimbilla reading through this tale of its woes, amplified by the personal story of the author and his friendship torn sore on the platter of ambitions. Internal conflicts is an ugly patch on the makeover of African nations, and this piece of writing echoes that. I think it is very good... maybe because I can relate to it more closely. I wish the author used other known tags. It will be great to see this rewarded.”

Post got "curied"!


The Slacker's Guide to the Great Remission: Introduction

One of the best satires I have read in a while. A typical day starts with the alarm clock, and has traffic, taxes, children, healthcare and a beggar with a cardboard sign, and a lot more. You will end up asking, in the words of @citizenzero, "Is this the American dream they promised?"

My Curator Comment:

“A beautiful satire built around relatable events. Author may have the borderline reputation, but I believe this to be exceptional so I send it in regardless. Just one big curie vote back in September, this one sure checks it on the "persistent without success.””

Post got curied!

Additional Remark:

This submission was BEFORE Curie announced the removal of reputation limits in its main curation, thus the remark, "borderline reputation."


SHAKESPEARE IS A WOMAN: THE Legend of the Fritton Gold

@funmiakinpelu doesn't even belief herself, she admits, but she makes a very compelling point challenging Shakespeare's gender. Pretty brilliant piece.

My Curator Comment:

“This author is a regular with the community curators, but the <1% votes at time of low SP is not doing enough in rewarding this author's brilliance. A post like this one deserves far more than $2 and I am kind of stoked the community guys haven't found this one yet. This is a quirky contemplation of the author and in no way assumes the authority of fact, thus citation isn't necessary. I mean he even doubts if he believes himself (herself? was author a woman? Pun intended), and the reasons she's given to conclude that Shakespeare was a woman. Brilliant read.”

Post got curied!

Additional Remark:

You can learn about "Community curation" in @curie's weekly update posts.



Now my selects for this week...

Instrumental Techniques in African Music

It is not every day you come across a theorized piece on African art, culture or music, that is excellently done. @papaudeme did just that with this very brilliant and well researched multi-media post. My excitement at reading this one translated into the comment I made.

My Curator Comment:

“Oh wow! Because I am passionate about contributing to the online space enough quality African contents to create a repository of accessible information about Africa and its practices, and this very one isn't short of contributing to that, I am boldly hitting the "Propose" on this one. That's enough motivation to risk submitting this despite the author's previous curie votes, as I would gladly offer my bit to help and motivate this category of creators. I can also argue that this content is in no way similar to the author's previous posts that got curied. This also is an exertion of research energy, and lets off an obvious authority in the author's discipline. It will be a big win if this is voted ;-) Amazing quality post. Very informative, and I am sure it will bode well with the African community.”

Post got curied!

Additional Remark:

Curie has limited steem and voting powers, and a very large community to cater for. So it is only rational that every time an author gets a curie vote, it is less likely that they will get another one on the same topic (where serialized) or the same level of exceptionality. This author already got upvoted in the past by the community guild, but I considered the piece very exceptional and different from what was voted before.


Galvanic etching - Quick HowTo

As straightforward as the title, this was a decent piece that I only dragged feet on submitting because the author was on the border of being too new to consider as "persistent." But the obvious knowledge of @floshmo and his/her expertise in delivering that step-by-step how-to on galvanic etching, and the author's engagement through comments on other users' posts, were enough anchor for an argument for the post.

My Curator Comment:

“8 posts and 25 comments in the first month on Steemit would be considered "persistent," methinks. This one has the potential to be a consistent quality creator (letting off hints of a follow-up post in this post) and I think rewarding him will help realize that. The post on its own is very very beautiful and masterfully crafted by a German with an obvious command of the Queen's language. I think it's something I would want to try (the whole etching), only if I get get my lazy butts to follow up on any plans. Lol. I hope this gets considered. Merry Christmas!”

Post got curied!


To keep it brief, here's the last I will share this week. Maybe in the future I will consider making this bi-weekly.

A Brief Explanation: Why the Pacific Northwest of America Has Volcanoes

@keephy discusses the active volcanoes in the "most geologically active region of North America." Quite what a researched work should be: direct, relayed in original words of the author, and proper citation of images and other sources.

My Curator Comments:

“Steemit definitely can be home to specialized knowledge too. That is what much of the "programming" and "stem" posts are after all. Well, that's my argument for why this ought to be considered. Definitely some people out there care about wildfires, volcanoes, earthquakes, geology and what not. That said, I think it'll make sense to encourage this author to keep doing his well researched posts. There is ample activity in 14 days (some of those are geology-related -- the author's obvious forte) that shows persistence. The work is well-organized and has proper references of images and a bibliography.”

Post missed the big curie vote as the community curators spotted it before it was reviewed by big curie. The same author's subsequent post got curied, however. And it was proposed by yours truly.


That wraps it for the week. Remember, round the clock Curie is finding the best posts on Steem that aren't discovered yet, and giving them fat handsome rewards. So keep committing to excellent contents, and we will find you, and curie will upvote you. Follow @curie trails on Streemian and Steemauto to support the authors. Vote for Curie as witness to support the community. We look forward to a great new year together.

Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

That's a careful collection there. You're really setting the wheel in motion.

Thank you, man. It's a honour being able to serve the community in whatever way.

Thanks for the great article! I upvoted and followed. Keep up the good work.

Indeed I am honored to have my post listed here and to even be the number 1 on the list gives me much pleasure, I am a new member of this community and though not new to writing I still don't entirely know my way around. I have joined some communities who are helping me to understand how the platform works including the tag words. Thank you for this! indeed I am honored

You earned it, buddy. You have a very strong voice. Keep it steeming 👏

Thank you @misterakpan. You are helping a great many minnows with your curation recommendations. I wish you the greatest success.

Thank you for the kind words, buddy. Keep creating those amazing stuff ;-)

I definitely would

Keep going with your great job. That's awesome you help others with your recommendations!

@misterakpan, nice to see you're still very active. Ahhhhhh, I remember the good old days when I was enough of a minnow to be eligible for @curie upvotes ... the good old days of three months ago 😔😞😂

Alas, we have grown. What a tragedy. Woe is me. Etcetera

Well the good news is that curie no more has a reputation limit in its curation. ANYBODY can now get curied for their kick ass content. So get creating, buddy, and the curators will pick up on you sooner than later ;-)

Oh? Wow, that's actually really good news!

Keep on fighting the good fight, my man! It's so refreshing to know that there peeps out there who genuinely care about curation, and not just the rewards.

I enjoyed reading the procedure too :)

Thank you for your kind words. Sure Curie takes curation very seriously. I am proud and honored to associate with the community :-)

Yes! This was perfectly done - beautiful job on the formatting and framing this for what it is. Really loved reading these :) It is my honor to call you my friend, brother.

Much love - Carl

Thank you, Carl. You know this was all your idea and I give it to you. I am honored to be your friend too <3

I only found @curie today and have done some reading since. Im excited to learn more about curation, something that has eluded me for the last 22 days. It's awesome to see people out there building the platform up through collaboration.

Yeah, curie is a fantastic project that is contributing immensely to user retention on steem. Glad you admire the collective work of the team :-)

Thanks for the insight into how @curie works. It is an awesome curation project and has boosted me before - it really does make a difference and encourage those putting effort in to stay and keep creating. Thank you for your work in being part of it.

Great curation article @misterakpan

We're investigating this @curie thing, seems interesting, but also complicated. we're trying to figure out how to get some readers for what we think is a well-thought article relevant to everyone in crypto...

https://steemit.com/life/@smokedsteem/how-to-escape-jail-time-after-getting-3-felonies-and-3-misdemeanors-in-one-night-no-seriously

I am very impressed.
i also want to get upvote from curie.
whether we should tag the curie in our post.
and what posts can tag the curie

Hey! Curie will come to you when they find your post to be exceptional. You really don't have to do anything. Just begin or keep creating quality posts.

ok thank you for the info.
try to check my last post. what's in the category of quality.
https://steemit.com/travel/@mujiburrahman10/happy-weekend

Congratulations @misterakpan, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3219 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4148.85. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice!
Happy New Year

Hi! I post amazing pictures about yoga because that's my passion!
I just posted a post about nude yoga, I bet you'll like it! Kisses! <3

IMG-20171228-WA0008.jpg

Thanks for the upvote on my JOULESTEEM circuit post. Regards.

Very well chosen posts! Great job!