THE LIBRARY #11 | A Curation Post for Readers and Writers

in #curation6 years ago

enter image description here


The Library #1 | The Library #2 | The Library #3 part 1 | The Library #3 part 2 | The Library #4 | The Library #5 | The Library #6 | The Library #7 | The Library #8 | The Library #9 | The Library #10


The Library - For Writers and Readers.

Welcome to the eleventh edition of The Library. A new, writing focused curation post. Coming out of the ideas and discussions generated in the Seeking a Community of Writers post, I wanted to be able to pursue that idea even further. I know there are writing communities on Discord (of which I am also a member), and there are also curator blogs on Steemit. So this idea is nothing new. But I want for The Library to be a curator post focused solely upon writers, and the world of writing.



To start with, the writing groups on Discord that I recommend are:

- The Writer's Block - how to join. Their Steemit address is @thewritersblock
- The Isle of Write - how to join. Their Steemit address is @isleofwrite

If you know of any others then feel free to mention them in the comments section.



enter image description here



FICTION


The Dam

For those that missed it @ezzy has released a new work of fiction this past week. The link to part 3 is listed above, but to start from the beginning (always a good move) here are the previous links: part 1 part 2.


An excerpt from my unpublished novel, "The Tangled Web."

@traciyork has shared some of her writing talents with us this week.


Radical Revision — An Experiment in Writing

@katrina-ariel introduces us to some of her own writing, and the changes she has made to it in the pursuit of a final complete form.



BOOK REVIEWS


Book Series Review: American Praetorians

@cheah presents a well written review of the books that make up this action thriller series.



NON-FICTION


The Key to Writing Tight Flash Fiction

@bex-dk walks us through the various requirements for writing good quality readable flash fiction. Despite it smaller word count (or perhaps because of it), this style of writing isn't as easy as it looks. Some very good pointers here.



enter image description here



POETRY


I am currently participating in @d-pends 100 day poetry writing challenge, and have noticed many examples of what I consider good quality poetry. Here are a couple that grabbed my attention this week:

Why I Talk Too Much

@acousticsteveo's effort for day 23, which had a structure and imagery that intrigued me no end.

Static

@carmalain7's poem for day 21 is one that I am still trying to come to terms with. Epic in scope, thought provoking, and with a developing narrative throughout, this is an example of what I believe this challenge is all about - pushing us to go deeper, in terms of our writing and search for something that goes beyond what we have previously presented.



enter image description here



Thank you for reading the eleventh edition of The Library. Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions, ideas, etc.

As always, I appreciate your time and attention, and hope you enjoyed your library visit.



Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
My Steemit Poetry Collection

Book Reviews
My Steemit Book Review Collection



Sort:  

Thanks for including my post. Hopefully it will help some people write better flash.

You're welcome, I hope so too. All of us writers need to keep learning and studying the basics and fundamentals.

Just had to stop in and see who you were featuring today.

thanks for sharing @bex-dk's post about flash fiction. Quite an interesting read.

Yes that was a stand out for me this week. Thanks for stopping by again, I appreciate it.

Thanks for adding @bex-dk's post about writing flash! I've learned a lot from her regarding how to best write flash fiction stories, and I think it's a great post for anyone interested in writing short fiction. :)

I've learned a lot also, and need to keep refining the knowledge. But it is explained well in the post, as are other lessons in her other posts also.

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and vote us back! And of course to enjoy our content :)

It's nice to see that you are branching out and evolving as well :) I remember in the early editions of the Library you would say that you're not really able to judge or write poetry that much. It's nice that you've been paritcipating in the challenge and getting more familiar with poetry as well (and nice to see some of the poets I know to be featured here as well!).

It's something that I truly appreciate. When we know we have weaknesses, we do not give up, but we try to become stronger!

I've written poetry, although I did stop for a while as I tried to concentrate more on fiction. But now I seem to gone back to what I started with here at Steemit. My concerns would have probably been more that I didn't feel comfortable judging poetry as well as I can fiction. But still I guess I know what I like and what grabs me, although I am still learning a lot in this regard. I would like to include poetry, perhaps not every week, but on a regular basis would be good. It is an important part of the whole creative writing world.

Such an excellent curation effort! Thank you for bringing together stellar works of fiction on Steemit. And I agree, @carmalain7's writing often makes my mind go WOW!

Thanks for dropping by. Yes such wonderful poetry. I've learned a lot just reading @carmalains7's writing, studying the flow and word play. And welcome to the library, glad I could include your work.

Thank you! I'm honoured you chose to highlight that post. I've got another one brewing, with a main character and query makeover. Having lots of fun with this project. Your encouragement is much appreciated! :)

It's a great routine you do - promoting other steemians! Thank you for doing that! You are great!

So many awesome writers! I agree, @carmalain7's "Static" was epic!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #93 (4/3/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Dang - I'm just seeing this now! Thanks so much for the shoutout, @naquoya (and for telling me there was a shoutout - I'm gonna have to have a word with GINA)!