You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buildawhale is no longer selling votes effective immediately

in #curation5 years ago

To be honest, I liked buildawhale since if a spammer did try to use the service he would be blacklisted in no time. But I understand the call. I am not certain that blind downvoting bots is a good idea.

I can understand if a content is not good and used a bot, then it calls for a downvote, but why can't a good content creator use the bot service?

Anyway, that's past now. Will be crossing paths with you soon. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

"...why can't a good content creator use the bot service?"

Because this is a social media platform and not a Steem mine. Social media is people. Bots aren't people and shouldn't be voting. It doesn't matter if you can make money doing it. It's bad for society, and bad for the individual people in it. Bots voting degrade humanity, and I've been agin' 'em since they started up.

Well, I am sure your life on Steem has improved since this is a social media site and bots are no more.. So congrats! And all the best!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't hold views because they improve my fate. I hold them because they'r factually correct, and I trust that knowing facts will enable me to take actions that improve my lot. Since I have simple needs that don't take much action to meet, I don't worry my pretty little head about my fate, and have more time to try to benefit others.

I expected bots to profit from HF21/22, and railed against the change volubly. My gast has been completely flabbered by how the downvote pool has worked out so far, but I am pleasantly astounded, and not dismayed. However, as all seasoned investors know, prior performance is no guarantee of future results, and things could change if popular will does.

I reckon the devs should be making Steem the best social media platform they can, and let the profits derive from that. I always put my horses in front of the cart myself. Looking at societies that have revealed many mechanisms of corruption and degradation of society by stake weighting should inform them on things to avoid. Buying votes is so 19th Century.