Sort:  

You have a point, it is one of the most popular tags, definitely, but it's being over used on things that I wouldn't really call photography. But just because a tag is popular doesn't mean the topic is popular. I just had a quick look at the hot posts, I scrolled the page down twice, and there are maybe five or six things I'm interested in and maybe one or two that I'll probably upvote, and that's the best it's been in I don't know how long, and not one of them is to do with photography. But I'm just a picky bastard, I have very specific tastes and they'll never be met by hot/trending topics on any website, it's not just steemit I have this problem with, haha.

You'd think steemit would have a google type search bar or something to help with keyword search on the site.

Well there is a search function, powered by google too, but it's not the best.