November 29 -- Steemit Ramble #131 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation6 years ago

Well, quite the kerfuffle went on over the last few days with the @zeartul / @bellyrub uproar. I don’t have a strong stance in regards to voting bots. I’ve on occasion used them. I don’t usually use one without checking @yapabmatt’s very useful Steem Bot Tracker. If you use it carefully, you can get a small gain depending on how much you put in.

Having said that, the tracker couldn’t have seen what was coming with the bellyrub situation. Just like in the rest of your life, you need to be careful with your funds here. Actually, you likely need to be more careful as we only have the person’s reputation they have developed here on the platform. In most cases, we know little to nothing of the person offline.

I looked at the bellyrub bank, didn’t fully understand what he was trying to do and passed. Decided that my SBD in hand was likely more real than a potential SBD in the future on something I wasn’t sure of.

As always, buyer beware.

Onward to today’s rambling

INTRODUCING AIR-CLINIC: THE FIRST HEALTHCARE SERVICE POWERED BY STEEM

This post was nominated by @seyiodus

This will be an interesting project to follow. For us here in the first world it might seem like an interesting novelty, for people in underdeveloped areas of the world, this could be a lifesaver.

Some of the greatest innovations in healthcare have come from the seat of adversity. Many of the lifesaving treatments we consider common were first tried on battlefields during desperate attempts to save the wounded in rough conditions.

The Dark Templar - @zeartul

@enginewitty, our leader over at #thealliance, posts in regards to @zeartul and that situation. He was a witness member at thealliance and had been very helpful to many of the members. When news started breaking about @zeartul and @bellyrub, @enginewitty cautioned us to get the other side of the story.

You can read in this post what happened when that happened. The takeaway lesson is, be just as careful on here as you would offline, maybe more so.

I used to sell drugs, now I give a shit

This post was nominated by @rodeo670

This is a long introduction post but, it is raw and open. If you don’t know something about @causanova by the end of it, well, you weren’t paying attention. Definitely a newcomer to keep an eye on.

How I Use Writing to Free Myself from Violence

@shawnamawna writes honestly and powerfully about how her writing is liberating her from the silence of abuse. Her comments touch a chord in many ways. I was raised in a home where talking about what happened in the home was considered to be a serious breach of family loyalty. It wasn’t about family loyalty, it was about not telling.

Well done @shawnamawna, don’t let anyone stop you from telling what tyou want to tell.

A Trip Down Memory Lane: My First Interaction With @Stellabelle! - “Stellabelle thought I were a girl...”

@hitmeasap’s post is a great reminder to the newer members on the platform that those folks with the higher reps and SP all had to start somewhere. Even @stellabelle made mistakes in the beginning. Hell, I remember the struggle I had figuring out how to get pictures to display.

Telegram Qwasapbot: infinite invisible private chat rooms

@sfkls writes and interesting post here about a bot on Telegram which allows you to have chats with other users based on their geographical location. So, if you put yourself in say Toronto and say you want to chat with other bot users in a 100km radius, the bot would find them.

Since I don’t carry a cell phone, I can’t use Telegram but I do find this an interesting feature. I know STEEM is on Telegram.

Mr. Piney about the death of print media

This post has some interesting timing. On Monday the news broke that two large newspaper chains in Canada were swapping assets and in the course of the transactions, several local small town newspapers were closing. That included the one which served my community and has done for over 100 years.

In this post, we get a glimpse at the other side of the story, the trees saved by not publishing newspapers. Way to make me think @dumar022, nicely done.

Manifest Your Own Reality Through Emotional Intelligence

New user @toddoto writes an interesting outline of what Emotional Intelligence is and how you can use it. Well done.

In Bitcoin terms, Steem is revisiting the lows of March of this year and if it was to revert back to the Bitcoin valuation witnessed in June, then Steem could be +$10.36..!!

For me, STEEM is a long term proposition. It’s not about making funds in the shortterm as much as the long haul. The last few months I’ve had to withdraw some STEEM to keep things going on the homefront, I always try to keep that to a minimum.

For those of you despairing about the price of STEEM hovering where it is, you might want to give a good read to @stephenkendal’s suggestion that STEEM may have a trickle down effect from Bitcoin’s roaring rise in value similar to June’s sudden uptick, but higher. Interesting food for thought.

These Boots Were Made For Stalking

A humourous take on the Grim Reaper by another new Steemizen @slynnknight. A cute story from another promising participant. Check it out and give @slynnknight a follow if you like it. A vote would be nice too :)

Microwave Ovens A Convenience That Kills

In most households a microwave is pretty standard fare. In mine, there is a very old 400W one sitting on a shelf that I use the timer feature on and nothing else. My late husband was into using a microwave but I wasn’t. Guess I kept it around for sentimental reasons as a timer would take up a lot less space.

Anyways, @ijele writes a very interesting post on the effects a microwave has on the food and indeed upon people. Read with an open mind, realizing the dangers could literally be a lifesaver.

Wrap-up on Day 131

Interesting assortment of posts I came across today. Nice to find a couple of new users who are showing potential. Always happy to include them.

I see some still lingering effects with the @zeartul/@bellyrub issue. A hack is now being claimed on @zeartul’s account. He needs to just give up with the stories, no one believes him that I know of.

A quick reminder that tomorrow is Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am and again at 7:30pm EST. I’ll be posting a reminder note tomorrow morning. Now, it’s time for me to post this and head off to the Legion to take sign ups for the Christmas Hamper program. That day is coming upon us.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thank you so much for including me here. What a great list! I now have lots more reading to do. :)

Been a trying past week for sure. Good post m'lady.

Thanks a lot for including me here this would give me more reason to keep writing