You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A review of vote buying

in #curation7 years ago

I agree with you to a point. While I don't advocate routinely using the voting bots, I do at times use them. Usually on a post I want to give a shot in the arm to because of whatever reason I want to give it a shot in the arm. I always wait for a few hours to see if the post will get some traction on its own.

For those under a reputation of 52, Curie does an excellent job of finding and promoting posts of promising content creators.

Then there are those over that level, it's a constant struggle to try to gain some notice.

I spend countless hours on the site finding and sharing quality posts in the Steemit Ramble. That has evolved into a discord where people can nominate posts to be reviewed for possible inclusion in the Ramble.

A few weeks ago I started Pimp Your Post Thursday where I host a chat, morning and evening, where people can present their posts and network with those in attendance. The sessions are getting a growing response. I publish within a day or so a report of the posts shared.

It's an effort to try to help people get noticed. Sometimes it feels like a soapbox on an obscure little corner and I can only give minimal help. I keep plugging and slowly growing and hopefully some day, I can find a busier corner to help give some hard working Steemians some notice from.

In the meantime, those hard working people will likely feel the need to try to upvote their posts by purchasing from a voting bot which in some ways is not a lot different than boosting a post on FB by paying for more exposure. Well, yeah there is a difference, here they do get a small return if they choose the service wisely.

Sort:  

I'd recommend you and other curators approach whales for delegations. I know, not everyone is a marketing person. I sure am not, I wouldn't know where to begin about asking for a delegation. In which case, team up with someone who is savvy at negotiations and communication. You can do the curation, they can keep the whales happy. It can be a whole group of people too.

There can be dozens of groups like Curie.

I comprehend, and there will dependably be an interest for needing votes. Be that as it may, I don't think vote purchasing administrations ought to coerce cash from the helpless. (Truly, sensational impact) Instead, they ought to do what the framework was intended to - curation.

@shadowpub thanks for creating Pimp your Post Thursday.. what a fun show...I was able to make it to one but plan to attend others... a great place to connect.

thank you @rebeccabe ... I appreciate the feedback