You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A post about excessive self-voting/vote-trading

in #curationlast year

I can't be bothered to track who votes for me. Some people may think they will get something in return (apart from their curation rewards), but I just vote on what I like and expect nothing extra in return.

Of course people will try to game the system, but from what I have seen there are others looking out for any suspicious behaviour and they find it all the time. I expect they run some sort of statistics on voting patterns, but that's not my field.

I've said many times that reputation is hard to gain here and easy to lose, so you may only slip up once, but it could be costly. If you come back with a new account you have to build up again and may still get spotted. Is it worth all the effort?

I think Hive is doing pretty well at getting rewards where they are deserved, but no system is perfect. Of course some people are favoured by the whales, but that is more incentive to spread the stake around.

Hive is still tiny, but we can already anticipate what could happen as it grows. It's going to be interesting to see how resilient it is.

Sort:  

Same here, I never post expecting anything either. I have never voted for myself, and I've never belonged to any ring-pod. I've been part of some communities. I'm grateful though when I'm upvoted, so far I see it seems to shift from one post to another, so I'm grateful and never take it for granted. It's not a "base" vote (thought I see some people have me on autovote (maybe for the sake of old times) that's a small part of the rewards of the post. The rest is usually voted by random curations. And honestly still love to be curied, still it does feel great to me. I just can say, I never expect anyone to vote for anything I share, I do it also for the feedback and that's also a great deal to me. But I hope that what I share is worth the read/listen/watch

some people are favoured by the whales, but that is more incentive to spread the stake around.

Agreed. Folks Dan and Starkerz of CTT are constantly reminding Hiveans to spread the token far and wide to counter concentration on HIVE within the few whale accounts.

I thinks it's important that we continue to do so.