Scattered Ink: The best long-form writing on Steemit, Vol #0

in #curation8 years ago

Welcome to the first edition of Scattered Ink, a curated selection of the best long-form writing on Steemit.

Why does Scattered Ink exist?

I think that the long-term value of Steemit depends on the quality of the content that its users produce. Right now, a lot of valuable content slips through the cracks and becomes invisible. I want to raise the profile of content that has the potential to last, and create an incentive for great writers and artists to keep producing for the platform.

How does Scattered Ink work?

I'm on the lookout for work - non-fiction or fiction - that has obviously been crafted and cared for, and will be publishing a new edition of Scattered Ink when I have enough posts to make it worthwhile - probably once a week or so. If you've written something you'd like me to take a look at, let me know in the comments.

75% of the Steem Dollar rewards for each volume of Scattered Ink will be split between the featured authors. If you enjoyed the posts that I highlight, please vote them up too - the idea is to make those 30 day payouts meaningful for content that might otherwise not get noticed.

Who are you?

I'm Jack, I've been writing a fiction series and a series on graph theory on Steemit - you're welcome to check them out.

Scattered Ink, Volume 0

There are four pieces in the inaugural edition of Scattered Ink. I've gone for quality over quantity, so that readers can take their time over the posts that I've chosen, and so that I can take my time choosing great posts to go into each edition. Happy reading!

Flying Hotels: The Romantic Age of Air Travel (Blimps, Zeppelins, Dirigibles)

Author and writer @alexbeyman takes us on thrilling tour of air travel in the age of zeppelins and other romantic - even, to modern eyes, improbable - aerial vehicles. Beautifully illustrated and tinged with nostalgia and hope for the future, this article will transport you to another time and place entirely.

Marriage By Proxy – When Your Lover Can’t Be Physically Present

@steemzine author The Crack Fox recounts an amazing story from history, from a time when it was easier for ordinary people to make romantic connections across vast distances than it was to travel between them.

Getting Robbed, Pressure Gradients and Donald Trumps Wall

What happens to a frontier region that becomes a battleground between drug cartels and law enforcement, in a war that can never be won? @mikinfla contrasts the desolate beauty of the desert with the corruption of the authorities, and the ugliness of contemporary politics.

We Sold Funeral Flowers

Poet and writer @abarefootpoet constructs a #micro-novel in 5 parts (so far). A jigsaw of memories, constructed from delicate fragments of prose.

Sort:  

Great idea @sunjata. Please accept my submission. A third party account, based on first hand experience:

https://steemit.com/life/@yogi.artist/an-old-flame-s-sex-betrayal-revisited/

Annoyingly the title has changed since, but the url hasn't reflected this.

Thanks so much @sunjata for including me here!

@sunjata, can I make you some new scattered ink logos? Some more color?

That would be amazing! (As you may be able to tell, I am not a graphic designer...)

okay, I'll throw a few ideas up here soon.

Run out of reply depth but, yes, go for it.

@sunjata here's one.

This looks great, thanks so much for doing this will use it for the next one. If you have any good article suggestions, this group are interested in curating quality posts: https://steemit.com/steemit/@calamus056/tired-of-not-getting-upvotes-join-the-quality-curators-group

cool, if you don't mind then I'll do a quick post and link about you with this graphic.