You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upvoting is not curation! So I want to manually solve curation for my own purposes...

in #curation7 years ago

Oh my goodness, I was just about to write a post asking how to find quality content on here!

My first impression over the last week is that this site is painfully disorganized. I'd like a better way to filter search results at least.

Everyone plops their own posts under 5 often generic tags, but maybe users could be allowed to assign labels to others' content. That way, feeds could be filtered on richer keywords.

For example, you could see someone's Futurism feed including original posts and resteems that that user labeled Futurism. You could even follow this user's Futurism feed if you have no interest in, say, all their posts about Parenthood.

A tagging hierarchy might be useful too. Travel posts can include any number of sub-categories, so any post in Budget Travel would be included in its parent category.

I'm personally looking for good storytelling of any kind - suggestions are welcome!

Sort:  

Also, I realize I just wrote a wishlist for the site in general, because I'm still trying to figure out how we can apply these principles as users, haha. Thoughtful, keyword-based curation posts is the best I've got right now.

Tags are part of the solution but a human opinion on WHY the post is useful might be more helpful.
Tags still do not help you filter quality evergreen posts. This kind of post might get out of hand quick so it might need to be split up in sub posts...

I agree, and I think your post covered that well! Tags are only the first step for discovering something new that you might be interested in. I think the personal library idea is great, especially as something you can pin in your bio.

Yes it would be great if everyone had their "hall of fame" of pinned posts.
That way you can find it easily and others looking at your profile can see what you recommend. Maybe someone can make an app that does this automatically through comments and most frequently followed authors.