You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Promoting Posts - should we be shunning Randowhale, PAL and Whaleshares users? Shameless self promotion

in #curation7 years ago

Good post @sols! There definitely seems to be trouble in paradise right now! Sadly I don't think peer pressure is going to change the actions of some of the worst abusers of the system. It would appear that despite all of the well intentioned, honest members of our wee community, it is no different at all from the wider community of the'real world' with those in positions of power and influence in general using it for their own means and own self fulfillment, whilst at the same time encouraging the rest of us to do likewise so that it can be used as a justification for them doing it in the first place. On a platform that is supposed to be largely represented by critical thinkers, most are just 'followers'. It's a shame to see!

Hope your day is going well my friend and thanks again for sharing your thoughts and trying to affect positive change! :)

Sort:  

thanks for dropping in @tonyr I always appreciate seeing your comments,
I completely agree and I think the dev's did too, I think its just out of reach for most people to stand up against much of it since they completely shred us in ratio and you wouldnt exaclty want to piss off a whale as a red fish or minnow, I think we need to create a couple anti-curation trailers with a curie style post submission, maybe give out a couple warnings and then start to discipline
i think in that way, similar to curation trails, minnows can unite and help sensible whales control abusers and exploiters

I can't agree with the discipline part but the rest sounds like a good idea. I've already come across a good post concerning the matter of naming and shaming those who are upvoting their own comments purely for financial gain.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ethical-ai/one-sixth-of-author-reward-pool-diverted-anatomy-of-a-culprit

I don't think it's right to force anyone to do anything but while those at the top end of the steemit platform have an influence in one way, the rest of us have a different kind of influence that we can choose to put to use whenever we feel it is necessary.

I fully understand where you are coming from tbh, it doesnt feel right to enforce to get the desired behaviour but if we keep commenting on the system there are appropriate tools within the system to deal with it too. Still feels a little wrong to me, I kinda wish i could just sit there and upvote myself all day with a bit of money to back it up too, but I know its just not sustainable
thanks for sharing that post by the way, I like that its being talked about a fair bit, I think it will be resolved soon enough with all the great minds on it xD

No problem buddy! I hope so too. Tbh though, I think we have to accept that there will always be someone trying to abuse the system, whatever that system may be.

Take it easy @sols!