Alvin and Alanis take me back to the 1990’s

in #curie3 years ago

image.png

Dear Humble Hivers,

It’s Nick here.

You’re probably wondering how I’ve been. I’m well, thanks! Christmas is fast approaching and the end of school is nigh. It’s weird how we really can’t predict how a simple evening at home can take you to some great places.

As I chowed down on my burger with Hayley in front of the TV and enjoyed the second instalment of the Christmas Chronicles (which is up there on my favourite Christmas movies list), I soon found myself flung down the YouTube vortex. From Christmas movies to Christmas songs (think lots of Michael Buble’ and Mariah Carey) to power ballads, I’d somehow got back to one of my favourite female artists of all-time – Alanis Morissette, of course.

It really doesn’t matter who you’re listening to, but if it takes you back to a fun time or a special place or just a time and place when things felt remotely “normal”, it’s the best song in the world.

When I listen to Alanis Morissette, Eagle Eye Cherry, The Presidents of the United States of America or Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas Special as we flung years old mangled tinsel and stringy silk wrapped baubles on the plastic Christmas tree in the 80’s and 90’s, it solidified the best times of my early life into my very own preserved memory snowflake [remember that episode of The Big Bang Theory?]

You can turn any evening or afternoon into a great time. Open up your apps, find your old iPod or get out the vinyl. Within seconds, those tunes will take you back to Christmases gone, High School Graduation or your first kiss.

This stuff can't be bought. Enjoy the moment for it's fleeting preciousness.

See you in the next one,
Nick.