Delayed gratification: Holding off buying a new RC plane is really hard! [EDFs][June 2020]

in #curie4 years ago

image.png
Could the Russian MiG-15 be the next plane in my RC collection?

My beginnings were met with a large speed bump.

My early foray into the hobby of flying RC aircraft came to an abrupt end after my trainer, a pink and white, high wing 3-channel balsa trainer lost radio signal due to a receiver battery failure mid-flight. That was in the summer of ‘98-‘99.

Twenty years later, I decided that things would be different.

After a few hours of research, I found a relatively cheap RC plane that I thought would be perfect for me. This, I told Hayley, was what I wanted for Christmas. The price? Incredibly cheap (compared with the price my mother paid for the balsa plane and expensive radio gear all those moons ago) - $120. These days, with the advent of far superior electric motors, gyroscopic stabilisers and lithium polymer battery systems, RC flying has never been so accessible.

image.png
The XK A800, a small electric powered glider was the perfect introduction to flying planes without assistance.

What’s most important? [Balance!]

RC flying, as with any other hobby requires one to make particular choices. I’ve been a part of a few different hobbies and have a range of interests, but there are a few things that need to be considered which I grapple with all the time (which is a GOOD thing). If you have seen my older videos, you may be aware that I offloaded a lot of my LEGO collection. Hoarding anything just isn’t productive and it was not serving me. It was also becoming a waste of money that really wasn’t adding much to my life. I do miss the sets I sold a little, but my relationship with Hayley is stronger for getting rid of them, the house is less cluttered and it’s enabled me to explore other interests.

This isn’t any different in the RC world.

I follow lots of RC channels online and it’s awesome to see so many people enjoy themselves. I’m so grateful they upload all these videos. You may have noticed that many of my recent videos are of my RC plane journey. However, I’ve always maintained that my channel is not an RC channel. My channel is a documentary record of the things I’ve found myself doing. While flying RC planes is fun, so is travelling, reading comics, drawing, painting, filming family and just recording my thoughts about particular issues. While it might be frustrating for some people to subscribe to a channel expecting consistent “on-topic” content, that’s not what Life with Nick and Hayley is about.

All that being said, while I wish I had the money to buy and fly every RC plane, it’s not sensible or healthy for me to think like that, nor is the same thrill likely to remain. I know how things go; excitement, pleasure, satisfaction, apathy and then general disinterest until the cycle repeats itself in about ten or fifteen years. This doesn’t mean that this is necessarily the case with every person and every hobby, but generally speaking, it is with me and recognising this early means I’m not “into it” too deep and I don’t have unrealistic expectations of a new purchase bring endless waves of happiness. No matter how exciting or how great the anticipation is, the thing will let you down unless you get your emotions under control.

As I’ve mentioned, I don’t have the money or the space to buy a ton of new planes. But, I love looking at what’s available and thinking about how a particular plane might fit into my RC life. That is, aspects such as it’s practicality to my flying site, compatibility with my current gear, flight times, flight characteristics, cost, ease of transport, ability to fit cameras and so on.

Exciting propulsion: The Electric Ducted Fan.

Excluding the failed maiden of the balsa trainer, I’ve flown three planes many times successfully; The aforementioned tiny XK A800 glider, which was stabilised, the FMS brand SuperEZ high wing trainer and the delightful Volantex Phoenix V2 2000mm motor glider. After gaining what I’d consider reasonable proficiency with these aircraft, I wanted my next dollars (eventually) to go towards an electric ducted fan jet aircraft. I didn’t think I’d be into RC jets because of the short flight times, but here we are!

Who are the contenders for my needs as a first-time ducted fan pilot?

Freewing MiG-15 64mm

image.png

Price: $214 (RC-Castle)

Pros:
Classic MiG 15 shaping. Apparently handles even better than the Lippisch. Durable design that can withstand heavy landings. Close to the $200 mark. Already having 4x 2200mAh 3s batteries means no additional battery cost.

Cons: Known to be tail heavy and requires more weight in the nose than one would expect. Reduced flight time compared with 64mm Lippisch.

Freewing Lippisch 64mm

image.png

Price: $158 PNP, no landing gear (AliExpress)

Pros:
The cheapest PNP edf I could find. All prices include shipping to Australia. Crazy. Glides well and is a cheap way to get a German fighter jet in camo colours without having to fork out hundreds more for a ME 262. Will be able to grow with pilot experience as it is said to be a very quick flier. Requires cheaper, lighter 1500 mAh 3s batteries while still allowing longer flight times compared with other 64mm edfs.

Cons:
Seller is AliExpress which I have heard little about.
The jury still seems out if this is the best plane for a new EDF pilot. While it's clear that the flying wing design glides exceptionally well, take offs often result in sharp nose down and can catch pilots off guard. This model turns into a dot quickly if not kept in close.

Stinger 64mm EDF (3S version)

image.png

Price: $230 (HobbyTech Toys eBay)

Pros: Relatively low price. Good pilot feedback from the community that claim it's a good sport EDF for newcomers. Working rudder function, screw design, minimal glue required.

Cons: Sport jet rather than a scale jet based on a military design. Requires 1800mAh 3s batteries - may not perform as well with current 2200mAh 3s batteries - jury still out. Some people claim even with 2200mAh 3s up front, it still needed nose weight.

Hobby King Jetstar 65mm 6 Blade EDF

image.png
Price: $228 (Red from RC-Castle)
Price: $231 (Green from Hobby King)

Pros: Comes with fixed (removable wheels), scale jet-sound as it comes with an 11 blade EDF.

Cons: Cheap looking design. Longer take off required and more difficult to hand launch due to less thrust.


EDFs Operating on 4 Cell Batteries

Stinger 64mm EDF (4S) [Red colour also available from RC-Castle]

image.png

Price: $240 (Hobby King Australia)

Pros: Five blade fan (HK pictured) for additional low speed thrust.

Cons: More expensive 2200mAh 4s batteries required. Structural issues with stabiliser due to servo cut-outs. Currently sold out at HK. No landing gear.

Super Scorpion 70mm EDF

image.png

Price: $275 (Albury Models RC)

Pros: Excellent sound with larger 70mm 12-blade EDF. Apparently a better lander than the Stinger jet. Very well balanced and easy hand launcher.

Cons: Requires larger, more costly 2600mAh 4s battery. No rudder control. Not the most appealing styling.

Arrows Marlin 64mm 11 Blade EDF

image.png

Price: $309 (RC-Castle)
Price: $299 (eBay Listing - Frontline Hobbies)

Pros: Excellent styling, 11 blade fan providing additional speed and superior sound. Given excellent reviews as a beginner EDF owing to it's stability. Easy over handed hand launch.

Cons: Sitting at the $300 mark, requiring more expensive 4s 2200-2700mAh batteries.

The temptation to spend a little more.

While it is probably the best option to choose something $300 or less as my first EDF, it’s hard not to be tempted by models such as the F-86 Sabre, the Me 262 running twin 70mm EDF units, or the 70mm Avanti sports jet.


Become a Patron here.

As you all know, none of this gets paid for aside from your generous upvotes. I have created a Patreon account to fund the publishing of my manuscript, but all Patrons will gain access to a range of exclusive benefits including early access to Steemit content. If you like what I do here and could spare as little as a couple of bucks a month, it would make the world of difference to me to keep bringing you my best work, week in, week out.

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original and belongs to @nickmorphew [25 June 2020].

Disclosure: This article was not a paid promotion.


I’m currently working on my debut fantasy novel based on my early work, Adventures in Elowyn Glade. Click the link to get an idea of where my first novel is headed!


You didn’t think you’d leave here without me shamelessly plugging my other work, right?

Check out my YouTube channel here

20190718_181107.jpg

Recent Articles.

Harry’s New Vortex!

Japan Adventure 2020|Day 2| We ate fried maple leaves!?

Japan Adventure 2020|Day 1| Nick and Hayley Travel!

Vegan Blood Test Examination; A Voyage into My Arteries.

Vegan Recipes for the Converted and Uninitiated Alike.

20180509_150243.jpg

Vegan “Matcha-Monsta” [Green, Nutty Icecream]. A Decidedly Delicious Dessert.

20180506_082319.jpg

Vegan Blueberry Pancakes: Breakfast Made Super Easy!

20180513_153507.jpg

Pumpkin and Kale Vegan Soup [An Unpredictable Love Story].

DSC00484.JPG

How to Bake Scones; VEGAN STYLE! Cruelty-Free Living Made Easy.

Cancer Treatment With food – The Daily Brown Smoothie: Looks like Filth. Battles Cancer to the DEATH.

Restaurant Reviews (and Tesla Showroom)

[100% VEGAN] Shift Eatery, Surry Hills

[100% VEGAN] Matcha Mylkbar, St. Kilda

[100% VEGAN] Lentil as Anything, Newtown

Da Orlando Wood Fire Pizzeria, Wollongong

Kürtősh, Wollongong

Nan Tien Temple, Wollongong

Blank Canvas, Batemans Bay

Tesla Motors, Martin Place

Do you enjoy gory mystery-thrillers?

Two devious, psychopathic minds go head-to-head trying to out-kill one another. Who will die at the hands of the two and how far will it go until the entire state is on the hunt for the duplicitous duo?

Check out The Coroner. Part 1 and Part 2 are linked.

So, you're a Star Wars fan? I almost wasn't.

In a two part micro series, learn of the devious practical joke my uncles played on me as a child. You'll never think of Darth Vader the same way again.

Part 1

Part 2

Sort:  

Congratulations @nickmorphew! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!