Where I Have Breakfast in Cusco

in #cusco6 years ago

I'm in Cusco for a little while. The market here is maybe bigger than Arequipa's, and some of the food is different. I like noni -- it's a fruit I can get in Arequipa -- but I haven't found it here. But they have cichcharron that is just as good as the cichcharron in Arequipa. The only difference for me is that I have a favorite chicharron lady in Arequipa. Cichcharron is deep-fried pork.

I come here around 10AM and sit down at one of these stalls. I eat a couple fried eggs and some potatoes. I have to go back into the touristy part of town to get coffee. In Arequipa, I drink chicha in the market, but I can't find it here. It's made from purple corn.cusco market.JPG

Sort:  

Yeah, there's just something really nice about going café or a restaurant where you know the staff, isn't there?
I tend to get a bit too stale with my café choices though so I have this rule of thumb that if I go to one café twice in a row I will then go to a completely new café to spice things up.

My chicharron lady is a real character. One time I went to the stall next to hers and she pretended to be upset with me for a week.

Chichcharon is fried pork your favorite food?

I'm gonna say yes. At least in South America. Of course I have some Japanese dishes that I really like a lot, but you can't really get them cooked right anywhere outside of Japan.

ahaha, she sounds like a delight.
I'll have to try chicharron. I've never had it actually

Different countries in South America make it differently. I don't like the way the Mexicans make it. I like Peru's way best. Everybody in South America likes Peruvian cooking. It's famous.

Oh, that's good to know. Thank you for the heads up, I'll try to find a place where they make it the Peru's way then

Congratulations @okubodenizen! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @okubodenizen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!