LATE NIGHT DELIVERY

in #cute6 years ago

We were about as surprised as this rabbit looks!


While we are aiming to reduce the quantity of rabbits that we currently have, we are still breeding them at the moment. Mostly, we are having some fun with fur color and patterns. This "natural" colored doe is one of our favorites, so we bred her last month to see what else we could get. The rabbit manure we've been collecting has been a huge bonus too, and we can't wait to use it in the garden soon enough!

FINALLY, THE BUNNIES!

After waiting for quite a while and then wondering if she was actually pregnant, we finally saw her start pulling fur. The mama rabbits will pull an impressive amount of fur off of their neck in order to make a warm, comfortable nest for their little bunnies. Once we saw that sign, we figured that she was close.

In the photo above you can see some of her pulled fur mixed with some straw in the nesting box. When it still gets slightly cold at night, this is also like a soft, warm blanket for the little ones, which certainly helps. We will have to see if any of the little ones have fur like hers, but at this stage the actual color can be hard to guess.

The pink part on this little bunny will most likely be just white, but the darker spots could be black, gray, or brown once the fur actually comes in. It is interesting to see the variety that can come from a married couple of rabbits, and sometimes the young end up looking nothing like their parents.

The @little-peppers did an actual count on the babies, but I forget if they claimed that there were eight or nine. While we do try to get a count and make sure that they are all alive, we don't like to disturb the new mama or the new babies too much. Soon we will be able to see their fur coming in, and then we will see what colors they are. Now they are basically blind and naked, but they are still cute! We'll let you know how these little ones do!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-bunnies

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Never eaten a rabbit. Probably never will. But the poo for the garden is a home run. Nice organic fertilizer. We share a common passion in gardening...

Yeah, we really like the fertilizer.

Whoa, a very cute little baby rabbit. Congrats for the additional member on your rabbit family 😊

Thank you! They sure are cute!

Congratulations for the save delivery of the mama rabbit. Can't wait to see the the little rabbits growing and growing beautiful fur

I can't wait to see their color come in either! It is always an interesting time to see how the little bunnies will look. Thanks @fatherfaith!

I got this rabbit captured in my phone camera last month20180309_110708.png
I am in love with rabbits

Indeed it has unique pattern and looks beautiful.

Yea . One falls in love with them.

That's a great shot! Where in the world is this rabbit from?

Thank you 😊
This rabbit is from jammu and kashmir, india.

Oh, that's cool! It's really interesting that we have rabbits in almost every single parts of the world now.

Congrats on the addition to the rabbits family. They are really cute, I pray they survive, I would like to hear more on their progress.

Yes, hopefully they will all survive. Thanks @seento!

Wow. Animal husbandry is a very interesting venture.
We find animals very lovable and for young rabbits, the love comes so naturally.

What exact kind of cross breeding did you do @papa-pepper ?

Have have Chinchilla, Rex, and New Zealand rabbits that we breed together.

Wow. That's interesting to know!

this is my pet
IMG_20180309_124148.jpg

I have plenty of these squirrels in my front lawn but they are not as friendly as this one is. They one in my lawn run away as soon as they see me.

it is because again less healthy, in fact it is very wild animal. afraid if we look at it

Aww, he's cute!

really very cute : )

Very cute! My brother once had one!

really very cute, squirrel is tame because it is less healthy, some time ago I found it fell from a tree.

They look so cute.

Thank you! We think so too!

What a cutie little bunny! I've never had the pleasure of seeing a little bunny live, so thanks for the photos!
My grandfather had rabbits when I was a little girl but that was a long time ago.

Cute for sure, I look forward to seeing the bunnies with fur on.

Sneak preview...

sometimes rabbits need to be a protected star, but many hunters look for rabbits to get rid of. even in Indonesia have rare animal locks

The mama rabbit is very cute. But the little ones look even cuter. I'm sure they will grow up to be big colourful rabbits.

Yes, even the big ones are furry and cute! Thanks @wa2qr!

The description is very complete with included evidence. Great @papa-pepper. regards from your son @munawar87..hihi

8 little explorers just now meet the world and sunshine. Aww... Congrats. I think that rabbit haven't stop looking at the camera until you clicked her.

It's nice to find pet rabbits already giving very cute children. May have beautiful feathers when he grows up. Good luck always for you @papa-pepper.

When I was young during the 90s our family reared rabbits. But we were told never to handle their babies with our bare hands because their mothers don't feed the ones that smell like humans. So we always wore a glove to handle them.
But i see you a holding them with your bare hands. We must have been misinformed.

We haven't had issues with ours, but I do know that wild rabbits will reject the young if you touch them... not sure.

This is actually true in case of wild rabbits and as well as some domesticated rabbits. But it depends in case of domesticated rabbits. Not all do that.

Okay, I don't know the specie we had but they were white. Thanks for the info.

Wild rabbits are one of very few animals who are extremely sensitive to human smells, and will do as you say and abandon their offspring if they have been touched by humans. Luckily most domesticated rabbits don't exhibit this behavior, but some do - so I think you were smart to not touch them without gloves. But there's no guarantee that @papa-pepper's rabbit will abandon its babies.

Thanks for the info. I don't know which continent they came from from but they were white. I live in West Africa. Any idea what specie that is? Every once in a while they would give birth to one grey colour baby among as many as twelve white ones.

No, I don't know much about African rabbits, sorry!

One thing i can boldly say to @papa-pepper is that, there is a bright future for your family. There is nothing as good as carrying your family along when doing anything. I'm always motivated and moved whenever i see the kind of training you have given @litle-peppers. Honestly, she has a very good father. Kudos to @papa-pepper. I'm learning a lot. If have my family, i will know how to do the needful.

Congrats for the newly added rabbit

Thanks for being an inspiration sir... God bless you and your family

Used to raise rabbits in Virginia! What’s for dinner? Mary! I have not found anyone raising rabbits here. I am not sure if it may be too hot for them! Do you all have nesting boxes designed into your cages so the momma can get a break from her young? Rabbits are fun!

Congratulations @papa-pepper for the safe delivery of your Rabbits...

The mama rabbits will pull an impressive amount of fur off of their neck in order to make a warm, comfortable nest for their little bunnies.

In this part of the world, we don't keep them as domestic animals or pet whatever. So I didnt know they actually pull furs or the reason for doing that. Hence, I have learnt something today. Congratulations

@eurogee

Interesting photos of the baby bunnies since I never saw a photo of a baby bunnies. Wish them growth well.

Hey congratulations for getting more rabbits added. They are indeed cute . Little peppers must be too happy about it.

You remind me of Noah..

You certainly have an interesting hobby in playing with genetics also. All so very interesting!

I always wonder how people get into certain things.. like breeding rabbits or goats like you do. Rabbit breeding would fun and easy (i think) where I live with the abundant greens around. Hmmm....

Waoo. Congrats papa on the new addition. I also love rabbits I once had them as my pet way back but due to the stress and and overnight death, I decided to do away with rabbits. Well I must say those new bunnies look awesome.

It like I should start rearing rabbits again and I was told it not good to touch new rabbits with bear hands.
I don't know how true is that?

@dhavey

More true with wild rabbits I believe.

Cute rabbits they look so tasty 😹 cats love rabbits and I hear you want to get rid of them. Any chance of giving a rabbit to this cat? Meow mRrrrrrrrrr.....😺

We were not thinking that they would be cat food.

Congratulations @papa-pepper. They are so cute.

Thanks for the insight papa. I don't know much about rabbit. You mentioned the scat was a bonus, how do you purpose it?

@papa-peper going through few of your post here i think i can summarize you with just two words, you are PATIENT AND you can OBSERVE.
Keep up the good work papa

Nice one there. Nothing is a waste in rabbit rearing even the furs fetch good money,

The mama rabbits will pull an impressive amount of fur off of their neck in order to make a warm, comfortable nest for their little bunnies.

Every Animal and Plant has unique behavior. Some call it basic instinct of life but it mostly looks like some kind of programmed software. Pulling once own fur for making a nest is almost sacrificial.

little cute bunny. welcome to our world

Congratulations........... You have been blessed.
More blessings are still en-route .

i thought I was the only bunny on steemit 😊 but now after reading your blog i came to the conclusion you are best blogger to blog about my favorite animal.God bless you and your family. image
I also have 8 dutch dwarf rabbit,my favorite one is given above.

Oh no, you're far from the only one on Steemit with a rabbit ;) He looks very nice by the way!

Here's my little rabbit:

DSC_0192.JPG

lol i was just kidding,by the way your bunny is adorable.Which breed is it?.

Thanks! I have no idea to be honest, but it's apparently a mix between a few different breeds. I don't really know much about the different rabbit breeds, so your guess is as good as mine is ;)

Amazing to see the little bunnies... 8 or 9 more little mouths to feed!

Wow, those are incredibly cute! There's nothing as cute as naked baby animals :)

I didn't know about the use of rabbit manure for gardening, but it makes sense. I have a rabbit, so I'm definitely going to read up on using rabbit manure for my garden this year. Still it's over 50cm snow, so it's no rush just yet! Hehe

Congratulations and thanks @papa-pepper for the safe delivery of your Rabbits...

well done the camera girl.

I had to laugh when I read that first sentence:

While we are aiming to reduce the quantity of rabbits that we currently have, we are still breeding them at the moment.

Enjoy the little ones and do keep us updated on their colours.

Congratulations again. Looks like March is the month of giving birth. That's how rabbit mamas do. I enjoy seeing their fur lined up while the bunnies like in there, sleepy. When i stil had them, i used my dad's tool box. Cleaned it, and it was a perfect fix. You are blessed to have 8-9 sir.

animals that always live in their cages

Sustainability in action...keep teaching us all the goodies of sustainable living...beautiful baby rabbit...thanks for sharing, upped-always. Feel free to see my update on the reward pool rape, I cited you on it today...happy weekend.

@papa-pepper, my one female rabbit is dead, because bloating abdomen, what causes it.

IMG20180303074750.jpg

IMG20180303074810.jpg

Poor bunny! She was surprised because she had 8 or nine little ones. She was counting on 6, so now she has more mouths to feed...
They are really cute Grey and white would be cute. Or perhaps it will be a blend of colours?

Yayyy! Gotta love baby bunnies! ♥

Rabbit farming is a lucrative one.papa pepper I can imagine the baby rabbit in your palm having comfort .do you sell them or just for domestic consumption?