Day 19 | Which consequences can you expect when you cheat to get a job

in #cv7 years ago

What is my blog about?

The day-count in my header relate to how many days I have been working at my new employment. The kicker is that I have won this and previous employments by successfully faking my CV, work experience and cheating on interviews.

You should cheat wisely like me!

Through my personal experiences here in Scandinavia, I have never felt afraid to cheat. In this place of the world, I know that it’s not criminal to write lies on your CV, neither to lie in your interview nor to have references lying for you. However, it is another case if I would fake documents such as a fake degree or a recommendation letter, and especially a fabricated license to be able to work within accounting and the health care sector. If you try to fake your way into a position where peoples health and private money is in your hands, you are stupid to try and you deserve to get caught. Even so that the interviewer would almost need to report you to the police as you may succeed elsewhere and endanger other people.

If you impersonate another real person you are also crossing the line. Whether that is in writing or having someone to pretend that they are a specific person doesn’t matter. You deserve to get caught. My way of going around this is to create fake letters of recommendations with fictitious people’s names. And with regards to my fake references such as close friends and family members, they are either acting as themselves or also completely fake. Lying is not a crime, but impersonating real people and using fake and deceiving information about real people, corporations and legal entities is.

Then there is the grey zone. It is more rewarding but more risky of course. It’s all up to the person/s opposite to you in the interview room whether they know that you’re cheating and if they deem it is bad enough to take further actions of your misbehavior. The grey zone is where you perhaps state that you have worked at a company before but don’t share a real name linked at that corporation. For example, I worked for a large employer for a short while, doing something completely different, for a much shorter time compared to what is being written in my fake CV. But I never use a real person’s name in any writing. The only writing I have regarding my fake background at this employer is a recommendation letter, which I worked several hours to construct, with a name and contact details attached to that have never existed in the company. In the interview I might even mention real names that I know exist at the company in situations where there is no recording device at the interview.
My biggest scare I ever experienced was probably when a recruitment firm was extremely interested in hiring me for a banking position. The fake reference I provided had actually been applying for a job through them before. And when I used his real number, they cross-referenced it via their database and found him with another last name and obviously with another work background. That was sloppy and about 4 years ago. The consequence I had to phase after this was that I never dared to apply for several positions that they held which often suited my work criteria. But a couple of funny things where that even though they bluntly caught me with a fake reference the recruiter was still eager to hire me, she left me perhaps 3 voicemails where she hoped I could explain the truth and give me a chance. Maybe this was a trap or maybe they wanted me anyway, I will never know, but I for sure won’t go back to a person that has caught me red handed. Another fun fact regarding this recruitment firm is that I applied to a few jobs a couple of months ago to see if I got any alarming signals/responses. I actually got a woman interested me to the extent that I wasn’t able to get the position I was asking for, but she got back to me regarding 2 other positions which I said no to.

So, maybe even if you get caught at a place, you can even have a go again in the future as they maybe don’t even keep any records of your cheat actions. Just be smart when you cheat. If you go in to more risky cheating areas, you need to be smarter and smoother. If you don’t have fake references, act as a reference for other people first and they will owe you one. Remember, interviewers are less likely to cross-reference international experiences and references. So if you have friends and family members abroad, you have a dream opportunity to fill in your CV with whatever work experience you dare to lie about and have a superb reference! Although I don’t consider myself as an illegal cheater, one illegal thing I would consider cheating with if I knew about it earlier would be to get a fake degree. Let say a Master’s degree in marketing, and I would study marketing for dummies or so for a month or more so that I would have basic knowledge in the field and combine it with my normal knowledge of social media. Believe me, I have studied administration and you can learn all of that on the spot! You can even get a trainee position in which you are hired to be placed in a learning incubator for the initial period of your employment! I would really do my work to make it work and avoid unnecessary risks!

                                          -

I would much appreciate if people mention what they think of my blog concept and structure. Please come with constructive feedback! I would give help back to you in any way I could!

Thank you for reading!

                                           -

Quick links to my other blog posts:

Sort:  

Congratulations @the-cv-trickster! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!